There’s a Glue Stick in my Fridge

Glue Sticks by Natalie Parker

Random, I know.

I use Avery glue sticks for scrapbooking.  No muss, no fuss, no special/precious/gimmicky scrapbook glue.  I tried to use my glue stick a couple of weeks ago.  It had turned to mush.  I’m not sure how else to describe it.  Perhaps goo is the right word?

I buy Avery glue sticks in packs of six.  The pack will last me for over a year.  I checked the new one I had left in the package and it was mush as well.  Any ideas?  Do your glue sticks expire?

I thought it might have been the slight heat wave we had at the time.  I put it in the fridge to see if the cold would harden it back up.  Mr. P found this puzzling.  “Why is there a glue stick in the fridge?”

The fridge treatment didn’t work and I replaced the glue sticks with a new set.  You will, of course, be the first to know if these new ones go downhill.

Glue Sticks by Natalie Parker

One thought on “There’s a Glue Stick in my Fridge

  1. I’ve always used tapes for my adhesives. Currently, 3L’s Tape Runner and for really small pieces I use the liquid glue pen from Close to My Heart, it’s tip is tiny and can do bits of papers. In my 25 years of scrapbooking, card-making and other paper crafting, I’ve had stickers, glue pens and tapes become unusable. I tell you all that because it makes me wonder if adhesives just sometimes go bad if not used in their ‘window’? Is it part of the deal with adhesive? I’ve NEVER had any item come loose from my albums, so maybe there really is a timeframe for use?

    And now I’m pondering my own hubby’s reaction to finding tape or glue in the fridge?? He is not fazed by much and rarely questions me about my photo and paper “stuff” as he calls it all 😀 Would my tape runner in the fridge get a response?? Thanks for the giggle at that mental picture!

Leave a Reply

