Packing Lenses for Travel

DLSR by Natalie ParkerI could really use advice from you DSLR-toting folks!

I’m still adjusting to my DSLR.  One reason why I put off the purchase for so long was my thinking: “I don’t want to have to carry this big thing around, my point-and-shoot fits in my pocket!” (you have to say it to yourself in a very whiny tone to get the full effect).

We bought the camera and even took a class on how to use it.  I’m still struggling with carrying it around.

When I went to Australia, it was mostly a business trip, so I left the telephoto lens at home.  All of these pictures were taken with my 50mm fixed focal length lens (yes, I was really that close up to the koala).  I found myself missing the telephoto at times.

What do you pack when you travel?  What if it’s just for a short trip?  I’m thinking of taking my 50mm lens and the telephoto next time and see how I like having them both.

I’d love to hear your suggestions!

Note: the pic above is of my kit lens.  The 50mm lens is much smaller, which is part of the reason why I like using it.

5 thoughts on “Packing Lenses for Travel

Leave a comment