I’m Still a Chronological Scrapbooker

Pioneer SJ-100 ScrapbookYep.  Still am.

Chronological scrapbooking sometimes sounds like a dirty word in the scrapbooking world.  I find it kind of funny actually considering the rise of Project Life and other similar systems.

To each her own.  Everyone has to do what works for them.  For me, my mind is just organized that way.  If I don’t work on my pages in some sort of orderly fashion, I’ll go batty.  I’m an odd bird.  Plus, I prefer no page protectors and use the type of scrapbook where I permanently make layouts back to back.

All of my previous scrapbooks had definite beginning and end times.  School years.  College yearsOur wedding.  I’m sticking with the years.  I like being able to see a snapshot in time.

What about being “behind?” I’ll always be behind.  I hope I can make a bit of a dent so I don’t have quite as many boxes in the closet as I do now, but that’s really all I’m concerned with.

Do I reserve the right to change my opinion?  Always.  I have a few years to get through before I really started taking pictures of “everyday.”  I have no idea how I’ll handle the influx of everyday pictures, but the idea will come.

I’m going to stick with what I know and not worry too much about how what I do compares to others.   I find tremendous inspiration in others, but I still do my own thing.  I’m really excited to dive in to the next chapter!

14 thoughts on “I’m Still a Chronological Scrapbooker

  1. Well, I’m in good company. I’ve tried to scrap in other ways and it just doesn’t work for me. Just the wire I’m/we’re wired. 🙂

  2. Yes. Yes. Yes. And yes! So well said!!
    I have done so many things in scrapbooking I said I’d “never” do!!
    Single page photos and Digital albums are my two biggest.
    They are still not the “norm” for me but I’ve done them.
    Totally agree about inspiration from others.
    I don’t understand people who won’t try because they don’t “think” a book they will make will be as “nice” as whatever album they’re looking at.
    Do your own thing works so well!! 🙂

  3. I love your approach! Doing what makes you happy is exactly what scrapbooking should be about 🙂

    I still scrapbook chronologically too. All my everyday pictures, I just put in my book in order of either when I made the layout, or when I took the pictures.

  4. You hit the nail on the head with “everyone has to do what works for them.” I scrapbook in every way—some day-to-day and some chronological. But I have to admit, my favorite way to scrapbook these days is more of a “contrast and compare” sort of way. That way, I get to incorporate the old with the new in an interesting way.
    That’s what works for me!

    • I like the idea of doing the compare and contrast layouts. I did something similar in my wedding scrapbook with pictures from my wedding and my parents’ wedding. I need to keep this in mind when I’m moving forward to make sure I’m not missing out on some great layouts.

  5. I am a chronologically-organized scrapbooker. I organize albums based on the year and then attempt to arrange layouts chronologically. I just stack layouts up until I have a dozen or so and then sort by season. Then I attempt to sort by month, week, or day. Mostly though, I start with the year and then to the season. I don’t need it to be more specific than that, but I try. For big vacations or other topics that get their own albums, they are chronological, usually to the day.

    • I think I’m heading that direction based on the work I’ve done so far. A year is definitely a unit with things roughly in order, but I don’t think I’m going to worry too much about something that happened a month before something else. Big vacations are another can of worms entirely!

  6. I wholeheartedly agree that you have to do what works for you. So many people just want to follow along with the crowd and never attempt to analyze the best approach that works with how they think and work. I advocate not listening to the noise but just doing what works for you. 🙂 I am not a chono scrapbooker, but I do love that I get a touch of it with my monthly PL spreads.

  7. Thanks for your site….it’s informative and entertaining. And, this particular post is most interesting.

    I claim to be a “chronic” myself. My first Scrapbooking attempt so many years ago was for a specific vacation and I fell in love with the craft.

    Now, I claim to work forwards and backwards, chronologically of course. I try to keep up with the current photo events which I do with regular success. But when I have down time, I work backwards with the old stuff that I never thought would end up in a book. It still gives me a sense of order.

    But you are surely right, you can only be successful if you have to option to do your own thing….to each his own, so true!

    • Exactly! Do your own thing. Your comments are very interesting – I’ve toyed around with the idea of working from the past concurrently with the present so I can do both.

Leave a Reply

