Wine Box Art

Wine Box Art by Natalie Parker

This weekend I finally finished a quick project: making a piece of wall art out of a wine box.  It’s a champagne box actually, from Champagne!

This box means a lot of things.  Our very first trip abroad.  France.  Champagne.  The little village of Verzenay where we learned how champagne is made:

Wine Box Art by Natalie Parker

We bought this special vintage champagne that came in a special box.  I loved the special box so much that we carried it with our luggage for the rest of our trip (on the train, into the taxi, up the stairs, walking a half mile back to the train station, on the plane, to the hotel, back in a taxi, on the plane, through customs, home).  Let’s just say our lives could have been easier if I’d relented and we’d chucked the box and took the bottle home by itself.

We opened the champagne a few weeks later for our anniversary.  Delicious.

Wine Box Art by Natalie Parker

Then I put the box in the closet, intending to display it.  Four years later, I finally got around to it!

Wine Box Art by Natalie Parker

This would have been easier with a hack saw, but I don’t own one.  I pulled it apart using a flat head screwdriver and a hammer.  The wood is very soft so I had to be really careful not to break it.

Wine Box Art by Natalie Parker

I picked the panel that looked the best and threw out the other pieces.  I attached a picture hanger to the back of the panel.

Wine Box Art by Natalie Parker

I bought an empty frame at Michaels and spray painted it with Krylon Blue Ocean Breeze.  I attached two more picture hangers to the back of the frame.  The frame is supposed to be hung with wire, which wouldn’t work here because I was leaving the frame empty.

Wine Box Art by Natalie Parker

We hung the frame first, then the panel inside it.

Wine Box Art by Natalie Parker

Such an easy project, I can’t believe I waited four years to do it.

Wine Box Art by Natalie Parker

Wine Box Art by Natalie Parker

We booked our day trip to Champagne with Paris Champagne Tours.  I cannot recommend them highly enough.  It was a private tour with a small group and we would not have gotten the same experience heading there ourselves on the train or booking a larger bus tour.  I’ve sent many friends on this tour and everyone loves it.  Only ten percent of visitors to Paris visit Champagne.  You should go!

Leave a Reply

