London: Paper + Design Shopping in Marylebone

Marylebone, London by Natalie ParkerMarylebone, London by Natalie ParkerMarylebone, London by Natalie Parker

On my second weekend in London, I took a walk around Marylebone!  Here are the highlights so you can plan a visit yourself!  Make sure to visit the map to see all my stops with links to the store websites.

Start your walk at the intersection of Marylebone Road and Marylebone High Street.  Walk down Marylebone High Street toward Oxford Street — that way you end up at Selfridges plus a lot of central tube and bus lines.

I started at the top of Marylebone High Street and stopped at any cute shops on the main road.  There’s a map on the left side of the street near the start that shows all the shops along the street so you don’t miss any.

Marylebone, London by Natalie Parker

How do you pronounce that?

Marylebone.  There isn’t exact agreement on how to pronounce it.  I’ve heard “Mary-la-bone” and “Mar-lee-bone.”  When in doubt with British place names, subtract syllables and run the rest together.  I say Marley-bone (no one laughed at me).

Highlights from My Walk

I popped into Oliver Bonas to make sure I didn’t miss anything after I stopped at their other location on my Shoreditch Walk.  One can never be too careful.

Caroline Gardner made me consider stuffing throw pillows in my suitcase.  I settled for some cards and a cute gift instead.

Daunt Books.  Enough said.

Marylebone, London by Natalie ParkerMarylebone, London by Natalie Parker

I could not get enough of the neon at Designers Guild.  Give me one of everything please!  Such lovely home goods as well.

Lots of neato Scandinavian style at Skandium.  Cute gifts too!

Cath Kidston: pattern exploding everywhere!  I picked up a polka dot neon pouch to hold travel stuff and some gifts for my niece and nephew.  They sell the prints they use in their products by the yard!

Marylebone, London by Natalie Parker

Afterward, I had a snack at Roti Chai and then hit Selfridges.

A perfect ending to the day would be this: picking out cards at Selfridges, sampling chocolate, then heading to the manicure stand.  Alas, I was in a hurry to get to a pub and catch the Manchester Derby and couldn’t stay.  I’m totally getting my nails done there next time.

What are your favorite shops in Marylebone?

If you go

Click here for a map of all the locations I visited.

Click here to see a photo index for all my posts on London

I traveled solo to London for the month of April on a business trip and kept myself entertained on the weekends exploring new places.

Leave a Reply

