London: Visiting Kensington Palace

Kensington Palace, London by Natalie ParkerKensington Palace, London by Natalie ParkerKensington Palace, London by Natalie Parker

On one of my days off during my long work trip to London, I decided to check out Kensington Palace.

Kensington Palace is for You if

You’re a royal watcher (like me).  If you are at all interested in monarchy generally or the British royal family, you’ll love this.

You are interested at all in Queen Victoria or Princess Diana.  Queen Victoria lived in Kensington Palace before she became queen and had her first privy council meeting in one of the rooms available to visit.  Princess Diana also lived in Kensington Palace.

You’re interested in what’s on the rotating exhibition.  Exhibitions rotate at the palace.  What drew me there was actually a fashion exhibition of the Queen’s, Princess Margaret’s, and Princess Diana’s dresses.  The exhibition on Queen Victoria’s life, Victoria Revealed, was also on when I visited.

Kensington Palace, London by Natalie ParkerKensington Palace, London by Natalie Parker

Tips for Your Visit

Tickets aren’t free.  But I had no problem walking up and buying them on the spot.  Click here for pricing information.  Tickets purchased online in advance are slightly cheaper.

There are real guides, not audio guides.  Real guides are available throughout the exhibits to answer any questions you may have.  They are incredibly knowledgeable and really love their jobs.  I overheard one say that they decided to dump audio guides a few years ago in favor of the more personal touch.  Still . . .

. . . that means things aren’t labeled.  I find that kind of annoying.  In the Queen Victoria rooms, there was one small booklet at the entrance to each room that you could grab and flip through to see what a painting was or whose doll house that was.  One.  Other than that, you had to ask the guide.  I’m glad they’re there, don’t get me wrong, but I wish stuff was labeled.

Don’t expect to run into Will and Kate (Kensington Palace is their London residence). But I swear, I swear, I saw an assistant and a security guard walking Lupo one morning when I was running through Kensington Gardens.  Just sayin’.

If you don’t have time to go in consider taking a walk (or run) through Kensington Gardens.  The outside of the palace is lovely and can be really peaceful in the mornings.  I ran through the gardens three times a week during my month in London and loved it.

If You Go

Click here for a map of all the locations I visited in London

Click here to see a photo index for all my posts on London

Have you visited Kensington Palace?  What did you think?  Did you know the grounds can be rented for weddings?

I traveled solo to London for the month of April on a business trip and kept myself entertained on the weekends exploring new places.  

2 thoughts on “London: Visiting Kensington Palace

  1. Wow, wow, wow. What an awesome opportunity– to see those amazing exhibits (the gowns!!!!!) and to be able to go for morning jogs in the gardens?! I’ll say it again: wow!

Leave a Reply

