London: Afternoon Tea at the Langham

Afternoon Tea at the Langham Hotel by Natalie ParkerAfternoon Tea at the Langham Hotel by Natalie ParkerAfternoon Tea at the Langham Hotel by Natalie ParkerAfternoon Tea at the Langham Hotel by Natalie ParkerAfternoon Tea at the Langham Hotel by Natalie Parker

Continuing my tour of things in London my husband doesn’t appreciate so I’ll do them because he’s not with me on this trip, it was time for afternoon tea.

I love afternoon tea.  Love love love.

My coworker wanted to take more for an ultra-traditional afternoon tea, so we headed to the Palm Court at the Langham.  Reservations are recommended, especially if you are going on a weekend.  We went on a weeknight at the last sitting, so we didn’t have to worry about being rushed.  We had a lovely time!

I’ve come to understand from my coworkers that one is either a sandwich person or a sweets person at tea.  I’m firmly in the latter camp, so I can’t say much about the sandwiches.  The sweets were good and the scones were ahhhh-mazing.

I ordered a glass of champagne with my tea because, champagne.  That was before I knew that Champagne Charlie appears at 7pm and hands out free champagne to everyone (a daily tradition at the Langham).  More champagne!  It was really cute.

My coworker is very into the atmosphere when she has tea.  The grand piano player definitely helped pass muster, but the tearoom itself was a little dated.  I’m not set in my tea preferences yet (as in, I don’t have my tea-legs, ha!), but I liked the art-deco interior of the Wolseley much better.

Service was lovely and the tea itself was delicious.  Afternoon tea is one of my favorite ways to relax, indulge, escape, and watch the world go by.

Palm Court at the Langham, 1c Portland Place, Regent street, London W1B 1JA | Click here for map

Click here to see a photo index for all my posts on London

I traveled solo to London for the month of April on a business trip and kept myself entertained on the weekends exploring new places.  

Leave a Reply

