Using Scraps to Make a Headline

Using Paper Scraps by Natalie Parker

When I visited my parents for Thanksgiving, my mom was going through her fabric scraps.  She saves nearly every last bit of fabric to use in other projects.  She was trying to purge her collection a bit and told me I had no idea how hard it was to give up some of the small scraps because they could still be useful.

Actually, I knew exactly what she was talking about.  Instead of fabric, I save paper scraps.  Tiny ones.  Itty bitty ones.  I keep the tiny pieces in a tray on my craft table.

To begin my new 2007 album, I used my tiny scraps to make a headline.

I went through my box snipped a bunch of little pieces.  They are all about 1/8-inch wide.

Using Paper Scraps by Natalie Parker

I used my Silhouette to cut “2007” out of white stock and filled the negative space with the scraps.

Using Paper Scraps by Natalie Parker

Seems simple enough and pretty cool, right?  It took about an hour with scissors and tweezers, so it’s not for the faint of heart.

Using Paper Scraps by Natalie Parker

But, pretty cool way to use up the tiny scraps I’ve been hoarding.  I should probably still purge what’s left . . .

2 thoughts on “Using Scraps to Make a Headline

Leave a Reply

