Buenos Aires Snapshots

Buenos Aires 2013 Snapshots by Natalie Parker

We traveled to Argentina on the way to Antarctica.  One year later, I’m sharing my snapshots with you.

One has to be in the right state of mind to truly appreciate a city.

I just decided that.  Or that’s how I’m going to diagnose why sometimes a city doesn’t tug at my heartstrings when everyone else says it’s ahhhhmazing.  I hope no one minds me saying that or admitting that — not all travel posts have to be gushing.

Buenos Aires is a cool city but it didn’t quite hit the mark with me.  Maybe it was the heat — they had a record number of scorching days when we were there.  Maybe it was people trying to take advantage of me as a tourist.  Despite that, I still enjoyed my time there and would like to visit again someday.

This was our first time in South America.  We spent two days in Buenos Aires on our way to Antarctica.  In addition to really wanting to see the city, it’s always a good idea to add extra time before an Antarctic cruise in case your luggage gets lost (but that’s another post).

First things first: ice cream.  There are tons of heladerías everywhere and I can get behind a culture that loves ice cream.  The heat while we were there was almost unbearable.  Plus Mr. P loves dulce-de-leche-anything.  This meant at least two ice cream trips a day.

Buenos Aires 2013 Snapshots by Natalie Parker

Buenos Aires is described as the Paris of South America.  There were some hints of Parisian architecture to be sure.

Buenos Aires 2013 Snapshots by Natalie Parker

But it definitely still felt South American.

Buenos Aires 2013 Snapshots by Natalie Parker

We thought this was a duck but it’s a penguin!  It’s a pitcher that our table wine was served in.  They were very popular in Argentina in decades past.  I wish I’d picked one up while we were there!

Buenos Aires 2013 Snapshots by Natalie Parker

Speaking of wine, we had lots of excellent Argentine wine.

Buenos Aires 2013 Snapshots by Natalie Parker

Evita was everywhere.

Buenos Aires 2013 Snapshots by Natalie Parker

My friend convinced us to go to the Recoleta cemetery to visit her.

Buenos Aires 2013 Snapshots by Natalie Parker

You know I love me some public transit.  We didn’t ride the subway on this trip because cabs were cheap and it was too hot to be underground.  I did snap this photo though.

Buenos Aires 2013 Snapshots by Natalie Parker

La Casa Rosada — the Pink House, aka the President’s mansion like the White House in the US.

Buenos Aires 2013 Snapshots by Natalie Parker

Argentine chorizo at a choripan stand.  They split it down the middle and put it on a bun and it is ahhhhhmazing.  The locals were amused that we knew what choripan was and where to find it.

Buenos Aires 2013 Snapshots by Natalie Parker

An old theater that was turned into a bookstore.  This is something I saw on Pinterest and when I found out it was in Buenos Aires and we were going to Buenos Aires, I made sure we stopped by.

Buenos Aires 2013 Snapshots by Natalie Parker

At night, having a drink before heading to dinner.  The locals eat very late so when in Rome . . .

Buenos Aires 2013 Snapshots by Natalie Parker

After two days, we headed south.  Stay tuned for some snapshots from Ushuaia.

Previously: Argentina in Yellow.  See all of my travel related posts here.

Buenos Aires 2013 Snapshots by Natalie Parker

Leave a Reply

