Argentina in Yellow

Argentina in Yellow by Natalie Parker

We left for Argentina almost a year ago.  It was really a stepping stone to a bigger adventure.  When we got home, we were still reeling from the experience of being in Antarctica.  I shared Antarctica pictures with you but my time in Argentina was quickly pushed aside as I started the new year, new classes, and looked ahead.

I was coding my travel archives a couple weeks ago and realized I hadn’t said anything about Argentina.  I’m thinking about it now and how beautiful the weather must be.  I’m starting to forget what it felt like to be in the oppressive heat with rolling blackouts.

When we visited China, I experimented for the first time actively capturing one color: red.  If you don’t naturally take photos of random objects and default toward the “big shots,” this is good practice to break out of that mold.

In Argentina, I picked yellow.  Here is what I found:

This is one of the first pictures I took, when we arrived in La Recoleta in Buenos Aires.  I think I picked yellow at that moment or soon before.

Argentina in Yellow by Natalie Parker

Most taxis are black and yellow.  Traffic is a mix between first and third world, meaning they mostly obey traffic laws but it can get hairy.

Argentina in Yellow by Natalie Parker

A bench outside an ice cream stand in Palermo as we went for what must have been the fifth serving of dulce de leche ice cream.

Argentina in Yellow by Natalie Parker

I was trying to get the Starbucks sign with the traffic signs here.  Everything is a mixture of new and old.  Sometimes the differences can be quite stark.

Argentina in Yellow by Natalie Parker

Picking up some maps of the city before stopping for an ice cream.

Argentina in Yellow by Natalie Parker

Remembering an amused taxi driver taking us to La Costanera so we could find choripan (more on that in a later post).  We wanted real street food and we found it.

Argentina in Yellow by Natalie Parker

I stopped everyone for this shot as we were rushing back to the hotel (after an ice cream pit stop) so we could catch a flight south.

Argentina in Yellow by Natalie Parker

Ushuaia, the southernmost city in Argentina, “El Fin del Mundo” or end of the world as they call it.

Argentina in Yellow by Natalie Parker

Right at the foot of the Andes, it looks a bit like a ski town.

Argentina in Yellow by Natalie Parker

Getting a remis to our hotel.

Argentina in Yellow by Natalie Parker

Beautiful flowers outside the hotel lobby.

Argentina in Yellow by Natalie Parker

And finally, standing on the shore of the Beagle Channel.  We’d sail through it the next day on our way to the seventh continent.

Argentina in Yellow by Natalie Parker

Stay tuned for more Argentina photos leading up to Christmas.  I’m planning a roundup for each of the two cities we visited.

Argentina in Yellow by Natalie Parker

Leave a Reply

