I Miss Newspapers

Newspapers by Natalie Parker

I know I prefer to read my news online.  I know that more and more people prefer to do the same.

Still, there’s something magical about seeing an important occasion memorialized in print.  It feels more permanent.*

Reading stories online, you never get to see the cool full-page ads that businesses paid for to congratulate your team on winning its third World Series in five years.  I’m going to have to leave room for this ad in my scrapbook:

Newspapers by Natalie Parker

Newspapers are cool.  Print is cool.

When big events happen, I always buy a newspaper for my scrapbook.

*If you’re thinking about newsprint degrading, know that this newspaper I’m holding will likely last longer than photos on most people’s hard drives.

Leave a Reply

