Trip Report IV: Munich (Oktoberfest)

Munich Oktoberfest Snapshots Fall 2014 by Natalie Parker

Part I (Paris), part II (Brussels), part III (London).

With London behind us, it was time for our week of vacation to begin.  We started our vacation with a stopover in Munich for, you guessed it, Oktoberfest.

Let me just say that photo taking was a total fail.  Okay, maybe just a general fail.  I did get some pictures.  But I did not in any way manage to capture the scene like I hoped I would.  Maybe the scene wasn’t meant to be captured.  My white whale?  Perhaps it’s something best left to oral history (boy, the stories I could tell you!).

I do know one thing, I’m totally going back and totally am going to try and get more pictures.  You know, for science.

We were in Munich for a day and a half and our time was exclusively spent at Oktoberfest.  Someday we’ll go back and actually see Munich.  Someday!

We landed and headed straight for the Wiesn.  Not sure where you’re going?  Your best bet is to follow the lederhosen and dirdls.

Munich Oktoberfest Snapshots Fall 2014 by Natalie Parker

And wow, wow, wow.  It was amazing.  There are these huge beer “tents” that hold thousands of people.

Munich Oktoberfest Snapshots Fall 2014 by Natalie Parker

Did I mention it was beer + carnival rides?  No, we did not ride the rides.  I thought it was best to not after drinking.

Munich Oktoberfest Snapshots Fall 2014 by Natalie Parker

I was mesmerized by how many beers waitstaff could carry in one hand!  Even empty, the liter steins were heavy!  Next time I need to take the shotgun approach and get lots of waitstaff photos so maybe I’ll end up with one good one after the chaos.

Munich Oktoberfest Snapshots Fall 2014 by Natalie Parker

Here’s another attempt at stein photography.  Yes, stein photography is a thing (according to me).

Munich Oktoberfest Snapshots Fall 2014 by Natalie Parker

We had our first beers in a beer garden outside of one of the big tents.  You must be seated in order to be served, so we had to find a space and make friends.

Munich Oktoberfest Snapshots Fall 2014 by Natalie Parker

Inside the tents was huge.  And crazy.  And fun.  During the day people sit.  In the evening, the music gets louder and everyone stands on their benches.  Most of the music was German, but they work some English-language songs in there so we got to participate in belting out lyrics, including these ones.

Munich Oktoberfest Snapshots Fall 2014 by Natalie Parker

When I would say Oktoberfest, people would say: sausage!  Yes, we had plenty of sausage, but chicken is the thing.  Check out this wall of rotisseries — we saw them in every tent we visited!

Munich Oktoberfest Snapshots Fall 2014 by Natalie Parker

So so so good.  We split a half chicken and plate of spaetzle for lunch on my birthday.

Munich Oktoberfest Snapshots Fall 2014 by Natalie Parker

Thank goodness I already own a beer stein or else I would have been tempted to buy one of these and take it home.  And then we would have gotten a divorce over suitcase space.

Munich Oktoberfest Snapshots Fall 2014 by Natalie Parker

The whirlwind ended just as quickly as it began!

Munich Oktoberfest Snapshots Fall 2014 by Natalie Parker

And just like that, we were on to our next destination.

Mr. P and I just returned from a 25-day trip to Europe (work + fun).  It’s the longest we’ve ever been away from home and I’m sharing each stop in a blog post with some of the hundreds of pictures we took.  Doing my best not to include photos already Instagrammed. Stay tuned for Istanbul next.

Munich Oktoberfest Snapshots Fall 2014 by Natalie Parker

2 thoughts on “Trip Report IV: Munich (Oktoberfest)

  1. I love Munich! I got to go there for work (by myself!!) about 10 years ago and going back for their Christmas Market is on my Life List. Just gotta convince the hubby that it’s a good idea to put 2 little kids on a plane for 10 hours😀

    I love your photos of Oktoberfest! I didn’t get to see that! I’d love to know how many people there are locals vs tourists.

    • Lots and lots of locals. I’m not 100% sure of the ratio because everyone dresses up. We met people from 9 different countries but it was all mixed in with a lot of Bavarians and folks from all over Germany.

Leave a Reply

