Trip Report III: London

London Fall 2014 Snapshots by Natalie Parker

Read Part I here and Part II here.

London calling.

Our week in London was all work, but we had the weekend to look around.  We’ve been to London once before and have hit the major sites.  We were so busy this time — you won’t find photos of Westminster or Big Ben.

On the other hand, we got to do some things that were left off the list last time.

We’d originally planned an EPL game on Saturday, but none of the games available in London were that great.  Mr. P turned over Saturday plans to me.  Left to my devices, we did this:

London Fall 2014 Snapshots by Natalie Parker

Last time we were there, the Palace was closed.  It’s only open to visitors when the Queen is on summer vacation.  I jumped on it and got tickets!

Sunday we stopped at the Tower of London to see the poppy installation.  I’d read a lot about it and and was so glad we got to see it in person.

London Fall 2014 Snapshots by Natalie Parker

The poppies, which are still being installed, each represent one British or Commonwealth fatality from World War I.  It was incredibly moving.  Read a great article about the installation here — it includes information on purchasing one of the poppies to benefit charity.

London Fall 2014 Snapshots by Natalie Parker

From there, we took a boat to Greenwich.  Such a cute place!

London Fall 2014 Snapshots by Natalie Parker

We walked up to the observatory, bought a ticket, and patiently queued up with other tourists so we could get our picture taken on the Prime Meridian.  I’m calling this the European equivalent of seeing a giant ball of twine on a roadtrip — sort of anti-climactic but you must get your photo taken anyway!

London Fall 2014 Snapshots by Natalie Parker

Then it was back to work work work.  We commuted to our jobs via Tube with the rest of London.  Did I mention I love public transportation?  Even if it’s sweltering and need of ventilation.

London Fall 2014 Snapshots by Natalie Parker

My office is in Victoria and I cut through the Victoria train station to get to work every day.  The amount of hustle and bustle and people trying to get every which way is astounding.

London Fall 2014 Snapshots by Natalie Parker

I didn’t take many pictures during the week though I’m sure you’d love to see pictures of my laptop.

Mr. P worked in a different part of the city and snapped this photo.  Sometimes when you are working it’s easy to slip away and forget you’ve traveled to a great city.  Mr. P was walking near his office and boom!  There was St. Paul’s.

London Fall 2014 Snapshots by Natalie Parker

Incidentally, I’ve had Mary Poppins music in my head since seeing Saving Mr. Banks on the plane.  This is appropriate given the location, right?

Our last night, we headed to East London.

London Fall 2014 Snapshots by Natalie Parker

We heard about a street food event and that Friday was the last one of the season.  Lucky us, again!

London Fall 2014 Snapshots by Natalie Parker

We broke our longstanding rule to never eat Mexican food east of the Mississippi River (if you’re from California, you’ll understand) because these tacos looked very promising.

London Fall 2014 Snapshots by Natalie Parker

I suspect (I know) that they had this place styled to make it so very Instagrammable.  Don’t care!  I took tons of pictures.

London Fall 2014 Snapshots by Natalie Parker

We had a date on Lufthansa the next morning so we made it an early night.

This pub was right outside our home Tube station.  I’d been eyeing it the whole trip and I got a picture on our last night.

London Fall 2014 Snapshots by Natalie Parker

I always seem to be insanely busy when I’m in London, both with work and play.  We’ll be back!

But we hurried away because we had a very exciting weekend in Munich ahead.

Click here to see a photo index for all my posts on London

Mr. P and I just returned from a 25-day trip to Europe (work + fun).  It’s the longest we’ve ever been away from home and I’m sharing each stop in a blog post with some of the hundreds of pictures we took.  Doing my best not to include photos already Instagrammed.  Stay tuned for Munich next.

London Fall 2014 Snapshots by Natalie Parker

2 thoughts on “Trip Report III: London

Leave a Reply

