Review: Blog Design Love 2.0

Blog Design Love Review by Natalie Parker

I used the Blog Design Love 2.0 ecourse to help with my blog revamp.  Below is a summary of my experience with it.  I paid for the course myself and I was not compensated for my opinions.  This course covers the Typepad, Blogger, and WordPress.com platforms.

Background

I’d been eagerly awaiting the launch of this course.  I’ve wanted to redesign my blog for at least a year but never found the time.  The course was a great impetus for me to get going!

I do know some HTML and CSS but you don’t need to know any to take the course.  You do need to know how to do some basic image editing.  I took a beginning Photoshop course at Skillshare before starting this course and will post about that in a separate review.

What I Liked

The course has a ton of content in it and is a great roadmap if you want to totally revamp your blog from concept to design.  I liked how the lessons were divided up.  I really liked having all the tasks in front of me and I used them as a checklist and got things done.

Even though I know how to code, Elise explained everything very clearly.  If you don’t have coding experience, you should be fine.  There were a few things in the course I never would have thought to do or didn’t know how to do.  I had a couple “why didn’t I think of that?” moments.

There are some things in the course that I’m surprised were included, such as how to sell stuff on your site or create an affiliate network.  I mean surprised in a good way though and I’m glad I have access to this material if I want to sell anything.

Things to Consider

If you are a WordPress.com user, some of the design parts of the course won’t be customizable for you unless you purchase the WordPress $30 Custom Design add-on (such as picking custom fonts or coding your navigation bar).  I ended up purchasing the add-on so I could get it to look how I wanted.  Even with the add-on, you cannot edit a theme’s HTML so you have to make sure the basic bones are where you want them, such as where the navigation bar is located.

Some of the things you see here on my site I coded myself and did not use the course (the way I designed my buttons, for example).  If you’d like to learn more about coding, you can take this free online course which is how I learned.

Summary

This course was a great jumping off point for me and I’m glad I bought it.  Even though I knew how to do some of the stuff already, it was a great way to organize my thoughts and get going.  There is a ton of content and I definitely learned things!  If you’ve been wanting to redesign your blog, I recommend it.

Blog Design Love 2.0 ecourse at A Beautiful Mess, $45

Blog Design Love Review by Natalie Parker

2 thoughts on “Review: Blog Design Love 2.0

Leave a Reply

