Yes You Can . . . Code

Yes You Can Code by Natalie Parker

What if I asked you if you could learn a new language?  Not whether you had the time or the desire to.  Just whether you could if you wanted to.

What if I told you that you wouldn’t need to learn how to pronounce it?  What if, unlike other languages, there were set rules and not a lot of exceptions you had to remember?

What if I told you that you didn’t even need to become fluent in the language?  You just needed to learn a couple of things here and there to get by.  Could you learn it if you wanted to?

Then you can code.

A few days ago, I was chatting with an extremely competent woman.  She has an advanced degree and I admire her.  We were talking about code.  “Oh, I could never do that,” she said.  Why not?

When we talk about getting more women into tech, we mean other women.  When we talk about getting girls interested in math and science and teaching them how to code, we mean girls.  Not us.

Let’s stop doing ourselves a disservice.  Anyone who is reasonably competent can learn how to code.  You just have to want to.  And if you don’t want to, that’s just fine.  Just don’t be unkind to yourself and say you can’t do something when I’m sure you can.

I don’t have a computer science degree.  I learned just the basics of HTML and CSS.  I don’t code every day.  I don’t code every month.  But I know I am competent enough to learn it and what I know was enough for me to style my own blog.

Yes you can code.  Not other women, not our daughters.  You can.  And just knowing that you can is enough.

If you’d like to learn HTML and CSS, all the content I used to learn it as a graduate student is available for free online here.

Leave a Reply

