Cross-Stitching

Cross-Stitching by Natalie Parker

I’ve taken up cross-stitching again.

I learned when I was 11 or 12 from my mom.  She was a fierce cross-stitcher before she moved onto quilting.  It’s been a couple decades (thereabouts) since I’ve cross-stitched.

I’ve been hankering to try it again but a few things held me back.  I could never find a pattern I liked.  I’m too practical — I won’t make something I wouldn’t consider hanging in my home.  I didn’t need animals, kids, houses, mansions, landscapes, unicorns, Edward Cullen, etc.  My crafting time is also limited and it is almost all devoted to scrapbooking.

Then I had a creative drought with my scrapbook.  I had to leave it alone and work on something else.  Suddenly there was room for something else creative!  I flipped through patterns on Etsy tirelessly but nothing was quite right (in the event I have a child, I know where to get tons of cute Star Wars patterns).  I discovered Pic 2 Pat and made my own pattern.  It took a while and I almost didn’t finish it.  But the scrapbook doldrums persisted so I pressed on.

I picked up my DMC threads the other day and got started.  I’m totally thrilled!  It’s fun to have a project I can work on when I’m curled up on the couch.

The finished product should be in the 16×20-inch range (theoretically, we’ll see if I used Pic 2 Pat correctly).  I’m not going to hurry through it and estimate it will take me at least several months if not a year to finish.  But working on it is starting to soothe my creative issues.  YES.

3 thoughts on “Cross-Stitching

  1. Can’t wait to see what that looks like!! Because I love paper – all those funny T-shirts about paper hoarding were made for me! – most of my other go-to projects when I’m out of scrappy ideas, are paper related. And I love cards! They also offer a great feeling of accomplishment when I can finish 3-4 in an hour or so. Happy CREATING!!

  2. Haha, I love that not only do we both cross stitch but we both took it up again around the same time. I’m excited to see how yours turns out!
    I’m not so strict on the won’t-make-things-I-won’t-hang thing on little patterns. I just ordered a few bigger pieces though that I think will either be good gifts or decorations since they’ll take a bigger time investment.
    I don’t know about you but I also just love stitching as background busy work. I’m a little too hyper to just sit and watch TV so it gives me a good way to busy myself.

    • I’m blessed/cursed with an innate practicality. But yes, I like the mindlessness of the hobby while still actually making something. I inherited the can’t-sit-still from my mom, so I totally love having the cross-stitch available. It sits under the side table next to the couch.

Leave a Reply

