For the Love of Old Stamps

Old Stamps by Natalie Parker

I have a new obsession: old, unused stamps.

It all started when I ordered a Vintage Pen Pal Kit from Saturday Morning Vintage.  The kit comes with old, unused postage!  All of a sudden, a light went off and I dreamed of sending mail Weasley style.

My mom is a lover of estate sales and treasure hunts.  She also loves a challenge, especially if one of her kids is asking.  In less than a month, envelopes started arriving filled with old stamps.  I love them!

Then she called me.  I hadn’t used them yet.  Apparently the big haul she got came from an old house that had a rat problem and I probably shouldn’t lick them.  Noted mom, noted.  I’m calling them the rat stamps now.

Regardless of provenance, I’m excited to start using them.  I ordered a bunch of penny stamps from USPS and we’re all set!  Long live snail mail.

One thought on “For the Love of Old Stamps

  1. I’ve always been a fan of snail mail. I think it’s one reason I love sending cards. I’m picky when I go to the post office about which stamps I get. Not just getting whatever is available. But I’ve never gotten into the stamps too much. Always thought it would be just one more thing I’d collect and spend money on. And then I’d want the oldest, weirdest, best, etc. 😀 Have fun with those!

Leave a Reply

