Scrapbook Layout: Current Events

Current Events Scrapbook Layout by Natalie ParkerCurrent Events Scrapbook Layout by Natalie ParkerCurrent Events Scrapbook Layout by Natalie ParkerCurrent Events Scrapbook Layout by Natalie ParkerCurrent Events Scrapbook Layout by Natalie Parker

On the Importance of Scrapbooking Current Events:  I’ll keep talking about this even if you’re not listening. I believe adding current events gives context.  I want my kids to know that I didn’t live in a vacuum.  I chatted about this on Paperclipping Roundtable, and when I showed my 9/11 layouts.  The original story of why I decided to show current events is in this post about interviewing my dad for a college assignment.

Previously: For the 2004 scrapbook, I did an intro page of sorts where I summarized what was going on in our lives and current events.  This year I decided to make current events a standalone layout.

Deciding What to Include: I Googled “2005 news” and similar phrases and started making a list.  From there I looked for pictures.  I made cuts after deciding what the layout would look like and what I had space for.  I tried to include pop culture and news, hence Tom Cruise jumping on Oprah’s couch.

Finding the Pictures: I used Google Images to find photos that went with the stories.  Because the printed photos on the layout are so small, lowish resolution wasn’t a problem.  I picked the clearest picture I could find of each and cropped them into squares.

Current Events Scrapbook Layout by Natalie Parker

Fonts: Mission Script (headline) | Tools: Epson Stylus R2000 (photos), Silhouette SD (headline) | Supplies: Webster’s Pages/Poppy Fields, American Crafts/Pentunia’s Pastries/Garden Cafe | Ephemera Included: none.

7 thoughts on “Scrapbook Layout: Current Events

  1. You know I am right there with you. I love that the we have a resource in the Internet to go back and fill in gaps if we need to. I print photos from Google from time to time for news stories like this. This is a great page! 🙂

    • Thank you Tammy! Yes, I’m thankful I have the internet to help! I’m often really amazed when I realize something I remember happening that particular year. “It was THAT long ago??”

  2. If there was a way to click LOVE this, I’d click a billion times! You are right on target on all of your points. “I didn’t live in a vacuum.” Well said! Events around us can so often change the way we think or feel about something.

    Just one thing … Lance A wins Tour de France again. Be sure to put a comment/box/whatever in the year he gets thrown out of competitive cycling … How many die hard sports fans have changed their thoughts and ideas about players because of the baseball and cycling scandals?? And that’s just ONE chain of events to connect!!! I also noticed the picture of the Pope. Events over the recent years have changed lots and lots of people’s ideas and opinions about the Catholic church – both good and bad!

    Because of news and pop culture I’ve done many a scrapbook page – with and without pictures – that tell what, why or how I think or feel about something. Maybe when I’m old, I’ll forget?? Or maybe it will just tell the ones I love who I was.

    If we leave out all those stories, we have no idea how things that happen around us have changed what we might do or even how we might think. About little and big things. Local and regional happenings can have the same effects. We do NOT live in a bubble of family and friends. What a GREAT post. And a great layout too!!

    • Thanks Michele! I think it’s always a challenge to decide how much context one wants to put on the page. Will I mention Lance Armstrong again in future scrapbooks? Probably. But having it down here also gives the benefit of a jumping off point for talking about it when I show someone the book. I’m really glad I have the benefit of hindsight when I put this together! One thing that doesn’t stand out on the page quite so much is the Time magazine cover questioning the very high housing prices . . .

  3. When I first started scrapbooking my high school years, I left pages to add the names of favorite songs and movies from the year. I did it successfully for two years and then just left space in the album to go do it later. Perhaps, I should go back and finish it…

Leave a Reply

