Scrapbook Layout: New York Scrapbook, Museums

New York Museum Scrapbook Layout by Natalie ParkerNew York Museum Scrapbook Layout by Natalie ParkerNew York Museum Scrapbook Layout by Natalie ParkerNew York Museum Scrapbook Layout by Natalie ParkerNew York Museum Scrapbook Layout by Natalie ParkerThe Story: Our trips to the Metropolitan Museum of Art, Natural History Museum, and last-second trip to the Museum of Modern Art.

Inspiration: None.  This is a classic example of just-get-everything-to-fit-on-the-page.

Pictures in a Museum: I always feel odd taking pictures of art or museum displays.  But then again I like to have a couple pictures for my scrapbook.  What are your thoughts on this?  I made sure to get pictures of two very famous paintings to go with the story on the second page.

Pro Tip for Including Maps: Yes, the map folds out.  If you are including a whole map that folds out horizontally, put it on a right-facing page.  I messed up here.  If it’s on a left-facing page, when someone turns the page in the scrapbook, the map unfolds itself and gets all over the place.  If you don’t use page protectors, that is.  I don’t use page protectors so I can have things like maps that fold out!

Earlier: Title Page, Central Park, Yankee Game.

New York Museum Scrapbook Layout by Natalie Parker

Font: Bebas | Tools: Epson Stylus R2000 (photos), Silhouette SD (headline) | Supplies: Neighborhood Stripe by Reminisce (patterned paper) | Ephemera Included: Metropolitan Museum Map, MoMA tickets, Natural History Museum tickets.

6 thoughts on “Scrapbook Layout: New York Scrapbook, Museums

  1. Good job of getting it all to fit on one page 😉 I’ve occasionally “layered” tickets for my hubby and I when trying to make room. You can see there are 2 tix, but you can’t see all of the second one. I like the size of the picture on the lower right of the right page. Nice way to show some scale after you didn’t like that other page!

    About page protectors. They are not only designed to protect from dirty/sticky hands but to protect facing pages from any non photo-safe items – like maps or other mass printed memorabilia. So I use page protectors about 95% of the time. So what I do when I have items like maps or cards is to just NOT use page protectors on that particular page. The protector on the facing page still keeps things from damaging. A workable solution for me.

    About pictures in museums. Some places won’t even allow you to take pictures. I’ve purchased postcards in those instances. As in any public place, my only other concern is to not ruin other people’s enjoyment of whatever is taking place. Think concerts, conferences, even weddings. (Don’t get me started on weddings!! Drives me crazy when a guest pops up during the solemn ceremony, steps in the middle of the aisle and the flash goes off.)

    • Yes! You will see layered tickets later in the week!

      Yep, for someone who has studied preservation, I should probably use page protectors, but everything’s a tradeoff and I prefer not to use them.

  2. It’s been ages, but I’m so glad to read your blog again!

    I use page protectors for all my scrapbooks, but will cut a flap if I have something that opens up or moves on the page. Works for me!

  3. Have you ever considered fastening brochures in with clear photo corners? I use them for brochures and postcards that I may want to take out and read later.

    I’m mostly a lurker, but I’ve been enjoying your blog for several years now. I really like your style of pages. I use 8.5 x 11 cardstock, usually white, with standard page protectors in a notebook, and only do vacation albums. Thus, I’m following these recent posts with interest.

    • I have, but I’m wary about things falling out eventually. Plus, I think I’m the only one who likes to look at brochures anyway!

      Thanks for taking the to say hi! And thanks for following along even if you’re lurking 🙂 I’d love to see one of your albums sometime!

Leave a Reply

