Conquering Your Personal Fears

Plane in the Clouds by Natalie ParkerSigh, I’m about to have a 15-hour plane ride.

Wait, don’t I love going places?  Yes, I sure do.

The thing is, I’m terrified of flying.  Put me on a plane with some mild shaking and I start to lose. my. mind.

I don’t dislike everything about flying.  I love the part when I’m aboard Air France and I order a glass of champagne because it’s Air France and they give away champagne to us lowly folks sitting in economy.  Anyway.

I’m taking steps so I freak out less.  I refuse to let my fear take over because I never want to stop going places.

I’ve been thinking about personal fears for a while and finally articulated this:

Just because you are terrified of something doesn’t
mean it’s not worth doing.

Keep doing things that scare you because the
reward is greater than your personal fears.

It’s not just about flying.  Those words work pretty well for anything in your life you’re afraid of.

So, I’m leaving on a jet plane this weekend to go off and learn lots of new things.  I’ll be back soon!  Don’t worry, I have posts scheduled and will be checking in so it’ll be like I never left.

Don’t come rob the house, this trip is for school so Mr. P is staying behind.

4 thoughts on “Conquering Your Personal Fears

  1. I don’t like flying, either. I think it has something to do with having nothing but air beneath my feet! Anyway, I’ve found that playing video games keeps my mind off the flight, more so than reading, because the games keep my mind working. Maybe you can find something similar that works for you…

    Wishing you safe travels!

    • I usually try to make sure I’m on a plane with a personal entertainment system so I can watch a lot of movies. Maybe I’ll watch Breaking Dawn Part II again??

  2. I don’t like traveling alone, because I don’t like to be away from home without AJ or my family. But I am doing it right now (also for school – don’t rob my house either!) I wish I had had that quote earlier!

    Hope you have a safe and easy trip!

    • Agreed, I don’t like to be away from my husband. If I’m having adventures, I like him to be there. This should be a fun experience for me though!

Leave a Reply

