A Wedding with My Cell Phone

Wedding with Cell Phone by Natalie ParkerI went to a wedding recently and decided to take only my cell phone.  The truth is I didn’t want to carry a big purse for the DSLR, I wanted to carry a small clutch.

I see tons of people get great phone pictures and figured, what the hell, phone pictures it is!

The verdict?  Meh.  I got a couple of good photos but a bunch of them weren’t great quality as the phone doesn’t shoot well in low light.  Still, I don’t want to be that-person-who-isn’t-the-wedding-photographer running around to get pictures.  I also only really need/like a handful of pictures, not the jillion I’d take with a DSLR.  It makes me wonder whether I should carry a point-and-shoot to these things?

Ha, I can only imagine the look Mr. P would give me if I said I needed another camera.  I may have to carry around my old one.  Now to go see if it fits in my clutch . . .

6 thoughts on “A Wedding with My Cell Phone

  1. I am very unhappy with pics from my cell phone. Low light. Bright light. Moving. None of these turn out well. I’ve only had my “smart” phone a few months now and know that it will NOT be a camera for snapping anything other than a quick, “Oh. Cell phone is handy. Camera is not. Oh well. Phone camera it is.” My point and shoot has served me very well. My hobby (and business) is the scrapbooking NOT the photography. I know several hobbyist/semi-profressional photographers and I can’t imagine any of them using a cell phone for anything more than making phone calls!! Not surprised at your decision 🙂

    • I feel I can get good, perhaps acceptable pictures, in really good light and usually of stationary objects. But if it’s something important that I want to get pictures of, I really should bring a real camera!

  2. Yes, I think you need a point-and-shoot camera. You can tell your husband that I said so! There are too many times when you want good quality pictures, but don’t want to drag around the DSLR. Try eBay – you can get a very good quality used camera for under $75. Usually 8 megapixels is fine for the type of photos you’ll be taking. Good luck!

  3. I have quite a nice point and shoot (Canon S95), but even it doesn’t do a great job in low light. Often I can’t tell the difference between shots with it and the iPhone 5. What app are you using to take the photos?

    • I use just the regular camera in the Nexus 7. I know how to adjust the white balance and all the other settings, but I still don’t get anything as awesome as other phone photos I see.

Leave a Reply

