Remembering My Priorities

Finished Wedding scrapbookI was chatting with commenters last week about my page designs and it got me thinking about what’s important to me as a scrapbooker.

These are my priorities, in order:

1. Getting the Memories on the Page and Showcasing Them.  Above all, my scrapbook is about the memories.  The subject dictates how the page is designed.  I don’t start a design because I want to use a new product, I start a design in order to capture a memory.  Everything must work around that.

2. Coming Up with a Cool Design.  Yes, getting the memories on the page is the most important, but coming up with a design is one of the reasons why this is a hobby. I really like playing with paper and gluing it down.  It’s one of the reasons why I’m not a digital scrapbooker – I love playing with paper.

3. Getting it Done / Time.  I want to get more stuff scrapbooked as quickly as I can.  But, I won’t skip scrapbooking something because it’s a huge set of memories that will take forever (like my Wedding Scrapbook!).  I won’t hurriedly glue stuff to a page if the design isn’t working.

4. Everything else.  All the other fun stuff goes here.  I love looking at new papers and using them in my layouts, but only if rules 1-3 are satisfied first.  If the item doesn’t work with the memory or design, I’m not using it no matter how much I want to.

Example: if I’m scrapbooking something and I can’t figure out how to get the design to work with the keepsakes, such as ticket stubs or a program, I will change the design or wait for a good idea to come to me.  The keepsakes stay, they are the priority.  I should not remove them from the page for the sake of the design.  If it takes me a while to get it right, that’s okay.

So this is a blueprint of sorts of how my mind works when scrapbooking 🙂  I can’t say that I will stick to the rules 100% of the time, but I will use this as a guide for myself.

Speaking of “sticking to the rules,” I just found out while writing this post that What Not to Wear is ending after 10 seasons.  Sad face.  I’m going to have to stick with Stitch Fix to retool my wardrobe then.

8 thoughts on “Remembering My Priorities

  1. This is interesting to think about. It is prompting me to spend some time thinking about my memory-keeping priorities…
    I especially like your statement, “I should not remove [the keepsakes] from the page for the sake of the design.” I think this has been lost in “modern” scrapbooking. I know I don’t include as much ephemera as I’d like. Sometimes it’s because when I start looking at it with my photos, I find I don’t need it any more- the photos tell the story (or I just took too many brochures :)), but I always like to find ways to include ticket stubs if I can. I find the way you include ephemera to be particularly inspiring!

    • This was the first time I put thought into this. I think it will help me when I’m trying to make decisions on layouts. I don’t use every keepsake that I save and sometimes the pictures do the trick, but if it’s something that I really want to include, it’s getting included. Once I do a bunch more layouts, I think I’ll do a post on what I choose to save and of that, what makes in into the layout.

  2. I’ve never really thought of my scrapbooking in terms of priorities like this. Very thought provoking! I won’t finish a page I don’t really like either. While preserving the memories is high on my list of reasons I have to say that the joy I get from playing with paper may just override all of it. That’s why I’m still at it so many years later. 🙂

    • I think as long as you think about it, whatever result you come up with is fine. I may be overly-mindful, but I found this thinking useful for those situations when I’m really struggling with design choices.

  3. Great rules to follow and ones that I live by as well. I also think for me the pictures are the focus which is I tend to have simple layouts I want the pictures to shine not the product that I have used on the page.

  4. I found your blog through a link on the Paperclipping forums and I LOVE this idea of setting priorities explicitly. I also love your pages – so different from what we see in “the industry” but still so pretty and effective at capturing memories. Nice work!!!

Leave a Reply

