The Value of Information

Value of Information

In my ever-abundant spare time, I moonlight as a master’s student.

Yep, I’m getting a Master’s Degree in Library and Information Science.  I’m focusing on archives and information organization.  I’m a little over halfway done with  my coursework.

What does this have to do with memory keeping?  Everything, actually.

It’s really interesting to see how my experience as a memory keeper affects my opinions on information management issues.  Conversely, I’m learning a lot of concepts that really apply to scrapbooking.

Here is something I learned in my Records Management class this semester:

The value of information is directly related to its accessibility. 

I couldn’t agree more.  Consider photos locked away on your phone or hard drive.  Keepsakes in a closet.  They mean so much more if people can look at them.

On that note, I just finished my finals for this semester.  I can’t wait to have more time to scrapbook!

7 thoughts on “The Value of Information

  1. Wow, what a fascinating field of study that has changed so much over the past 20 years! And you’re right – it has everything to do with scrapbooking and the “memory keeper” movement.

    Glad to hear that your finals are done, so you can jump back into your favorite past time 🙂

    • Yes, it has changed significantly over the last 20 years. My professors often tell me that and like to prophesize on where they think the profession is going.

  2. Nice, Library and Information Science is so interesting to me! I also just finished my 3rd year for Art History & Spanish!!!!

    • Yes, it is very interesting! Art History is awesome as well! I’m always jealous of art history people when I visit museums because they know so much more than I.

Leave a Reply

