Valentines for My Ladies

Valentine by Natalie Parker 1Valentines for adults?  Valentines just because I felt like it.  Also because I like sending mail.  What’s wrong with going back to the days of handing out valentines to your friends?

I was inspired by Kelly Purkey, who sends handmade valentines to her girlfriends.  When I made my resolution to send more cards, I decided I was definitely going to send some valentines.

I thought for a long time about what they were going to look like.  I even picked up some hot pink sparkly cardstock when I was in Sydney, but wasn’t sure how I was going to use it.

One day, I saw the line “Do More of What Makes You Awesome” and thought, that’s it!  After that, they were easy to put together.

Valentine by Natalie ParkerI designed the block of text in Silhouette Studio using the font Bebas and cut the cards out of craft cardstock.  I thought for a while about gluing the craft cutouts back into the O’s and A’s, etc. but realized that would take way too long and I kind of liked the negative space look.  Good decision.

I glued the sparkly cardstock to the back of the cards, then glued everything down to another layer of craft cardstock.  I made two versions, some with the hot pink stock and some with pearl shimmer stock.

Valentine by Natalie ParkerOff they went in the mail to some of my favorite ladies.  Sometimes I thought it might be weird sending valentines to adults, but who cares?  I really hope they brighten someone’s day!

Valentine by Natalie Parker

3 thoughts on “Valentines for My Ladies

Leave a Reply

