Scrapbook Layout: Save the Date Layout

Save the Date scrapbook layoutThis is a pretty simple page but there’s a lot of purpose behind it.

It only hit me just now writing this post that this is a photo-less layout – just my Save the Date card and a story.  I really want to showcase the paper items from our wedding not just because I made them (okay, well maybe), but because they’re a part of our wedding story.  Wedding photo albums are great, but I don’t like the idea of my invitations and other things sitting in a box somewhere.

Our Save the Date was a postcard, so I glued two copies in order to show both sides.  I added a small story about how we picked our wedding date.

Save the Date scrapbook layoutI decided to stick with pink and grey for this one.  I cut the headline out with the Silhouette and decided to try Garamond italic for the date.  Note to self, don’t cut thin fonts out of thick cardstock with the Silhouette.  I just barely got this to work!

Save the Date scrapbook layoutSimple and understated is the name of the game as you know.  Success!

Save the Date scrapbook layoutFor more information on the paper colors I’m using for the engagement portion of my wedding scrapbook, visit my Engagement Paper Scheme post.

7 thoughts on “Scrapbook Layout: Save the Date Layout

  1. Hi

    I am also in the process of doing my wedding album. I was married many many years ago – pre digital and pre scrapbooking. Th wedding photographer kept the negatives and kept it for 7 years for us to make reprints. So all I have now are the photos in the album. It is in one of those bad magnetic albums and I recently disassembled the thing and scrapbooked them all.

    I find it sooooooooo tedious. I basically have so little to say about the wedding. And then there were all these similar looking photos of the bride and groom. I did not want to add later journaliing about our lives together. After I said something about the few special details and why we chose the flowers we did there really was not much more to say. I am a heavy journaller on my pages and this really bugs me.

    Hope you enjoy the process more.

    • Hi Anne, I’m sorry to hear that you didn’t enjoy the process as much as you thought you would. That’s sort of what’s lighting a fire under me to get this done as quickly as possible – I’m worried that I’ll burn out or forget what to say or will have nothing to day. I suppose maybe there’s a window of time for this sort of thing?

  2. Looks great. I enjoy photoless pages just as much as pages with photos. I agree that the paper elements are better showcased in an album rather than sitting in a box. So glad you are back to creating after the holidays!

    • Thanks Tammy! I hope you are doing well! I did manage to get some creative time in during the holidays even though I thought it was impossible. I can’t wait to share the results!

Leave a Reply

