The Key Photo – Don’t Leave Without It

Las Vegas TripI thought I learned my lesson but I did it again.  Again!

I’m always trying to find the happy balance between living behind the camera at an event and stepping away and enjoying myself.  There has to be a middle somewhere!

I’m talking about a middle between times when I purposefully don’t carry a camera and times like big vacations where I’m taking tons of pictures.  I’m talking about events like a friend’s wedding or an anniversary trip to Vegas.

Want to know what happened?  When I got home from the Vegas anniversary trip, I realized I didn’t get a single picture of our entire group.  Let alone that, there were a couple people who didn’t make it into any pictures.  There were only six of us, it’s not like it would have been hard!  I think it was a combination of wanting to sit back and enjoy the weekend and not wanting to be that girl who always insists everyone stop what they’re doing for a picture.  I was taking pictures, I have a nice amount from the weekend.  I just forgot that key one!

I’ve even left a wedding before without getting a picture of the bride and groom!  Sure, not every wedding I go to needs to be documented.  But if I’m bringing my camera and I’ve taken pictures of the flowers, my friends and my husband and I, I should probably try to get at least one picture of the bride and groom.  I’m usually a few years behind in scrapbooking so I don’t know if I will document the event later.  It shouldn’t be a big deal to just get one key picture and then kick back.

Does anyone else have this issue?  I’d love to hear about it.

2 thoughts on “The Key Photo – Don’t Leave Without It

  1. I recently realized how few pictures of me have been taken. Not like I want to be a diva and be in every shot but I realize there are a ton of family events and the closest I get is an obsured picture of me helping my kids do something. I am working on stepping out from behind the camera or using the timer feature so my kids will know what I looked like back in the day.

    • I’ve been realizing the same thing. On certain days of our last vacation, I handed the camera to Bill and made him take the pictures. Of course, he filled the memory card beyond the space I had budgeted for that day, but I can’t have everything.

Leave a Reply

