Scrapbook Layout: The Last Layout

College scrapbook page

We finally made it folks, this is the last page in the last college scrapbook I will ever make.

I’ve known for at least two years that I wanted to put a very specific poem at the end.  That was about it.  It took several days of hemming and hawing to figure out how to design the page around the poem.

I didn’t want to just make an end to this book, I wanted it to be representative of all four years in school.

I decided to go back to squares, but make it super complicated.  Would it be a proper ending if I didn’t make it complicated?

I started with a grid of 2-inch squares.  I took pictures from all four years of college and cut them into squares or rectangles.  The rectangles were painstakingly measured to cover the area of 2 or 3 squares including the gutter.  The inspiration for this idea actually came from a page I did two years ago.

Of course, I don’t cut without a plan.  I spread everything out on the floor and made myself a draft grid to work with:

College scrapbook photos

I lettered the poem onto light blue stock.  The title and credit for the piece wouldn’t fit with the poem, so I tucked it onto the bottom right corner.

The poem was written around 1910 for the yearbook of my alma mater, The Blue and Gold.  It was published in 1911 and it’s really timeless.  I’ve reprinted it here in case you decide to use it.  Please only use it if you are giving credit to The Blue and Gold at the University of California, Berkeley:

“Four years behind us,
And maybe more
The whole world in front of us
It’s time to score

Now with the years behind us,
Now that the goal is won,
With everything to remind us
We wish we’d just begun”

Senior Farewell
The Blue and Gold 1911
University of California, Berkeley

Fitting, isn’t it?  I thought so.

College scrapbook page

6 thoughts on “Scrapbook Layout: The Last Layout

  1. Congrats! I love your photo collage that includes photos from all four years. Great way to end the album. The poem is very fitting and timeless and perfect! So what are you moving on to next? 🙂

    • Thank you!

      Next is my wedding (cue dramatic drumroll). I’m in the middle of making a bunch of design decisions about it because I want the book to be cohesive. I have a hard enough time making design decisions for one layout. It is sure to get interesting.

Leave a Reply

