Repurposing A Department Store Box

I hate throwing away perfectly good gift boxes.  Okay, I hate throwing anything away.  I had this JC Penny jewelry box from last year and I wanted to do something with it.

You’re probably thinking that I could have easily wrapped another gift in the box as-is.  Too bad.  One of my favorite hobbies is creating more work for myself.

I also happened to have this awesome peppermint wrapping paper in my stash.

I cut three little peppermints out.  Peppermints are one of my favorite holiday motifs.  Snowflakes are a close second.  The husband?  He’d rather put snowmen on everything.

I used some Mod Podge to glue the peppermints to the box and then applied two coats to the top to finish and seal it.  Visit my Cherry Blossom Box post to get a detailed how-to.

That’s it!  This entire project took all of 15 minutes (not including drying time).

Tips & Ideas

  • Visit my Cherry Blossom Box post for a full tutorial and discussion about Mod Podge.
  • Reuse printed department store boxes by covering the logo with a design.
  • Wrapping paper can be used for other things besides wrapping packages.
  • A printable design also works in place of wrapping paper.  Just make sure box logo doesn’t show through the white printer paper.

Linking to:

Join  us Saturdays at tatertotsandjello.com for the weekend wrap up    party!handmade projects

The DIY Show Off
Funky Junk's Saturday Nite Specialmmm button

7 thoughts on “Repurposing A Department Store Box

Leave a Reply

