Scrapbook Layout: Bonfire Rally

Bonfire Scrapbook by Natalie ParkerBonfire Scrapbook by Natalie ParkerBonfire Scrapbook by Natalie ParkerBonfire Scrapbook by Natalie ParkerBonfire Scrapbook by Natalie Parker

The Story:  Mr. P and I helping students build the Big Game Bonfire, the big culminating event of the rivalry week (aside from the football game, of course).

Previously: I’ve been attending this event for years and I take a differing amount of photos each time and save varying levels of ephemera.  See prior year’s layouts here and here.

Ephemera on the left, Photos on the Right: There was just so much stuff to include here.  I made a collage of ephemera on the left.  On the right, pretty much in a diametrically opposed style, I went with a photo grid.

Walking Bear Logo:  I traced and cut the walking bear logo with my Silhouette the same way I do other sports logos.

Varying the Font Size a Little: Laying out this event year after year, coming up with something interesting is challenging.  I experimented with cutting the headline out of two different font sizes and colors and put it in a box instead of having it float by itself.  I like how it adds a clean line to the collage page.

Do you ever scrapbook recurring events?  Any tips to keep it interesting?

Bonfire Scrapbook by Natalie Parker

Fonts: Bebas | Tools: Silhouette SD (headline & bear), Epson Stylus R2000 (photos) | Supplies: Epson Semigloss Photo Paper (photos) | Keepsakes Included: Backstage passes, parking pass, program schedule, poster.

6 thoughts on “Scrapbook Layout: Bonfire Rally

  1. This looks great! I like what you did with the title, it really adds an interesting dimension to the page.

    I often scrap the same events (like our Labor Day trip to New York). Lately, I’ve been using the same basic layout, but changing up the pictures + papers I use to make it feel different. I like that it has a unifying theme, but doesn’t look the same.

    • Thanks! I like your strategy. I’ll have to keep that in mind when I do this again – it’s okay to use the same layout. My issue with this one though is that the colors are the same as well because I totally have to stick with school colors :)

  2. Interesting to consider this. Because I never do :) I trim my pictures so that I have the things out that I do NOT want and the things IN that I DO want! I also use more patterned paper and “wallpaper” my pages more often than you do, so it wouldn’t come up as often. However, if we were attending anyone’s team events regularly, I’m sure this might be something I’d consider more, because I do use team colors when we host events in our home because of some “Big Game.”

    My “annual” events would have to be birthdays and holidays and since I do an annual album, I guess I wouldn’t even think about it because, most of the time, we don’t pull out ALL of the old albums to look at, we get 2 or maybe 3 off the shelf. When you look at so many pages at one sitting, would you even notice any similar layouts?? Maybe some people would, certainly most non-scrapbookers wouldn’t. And this is where the philosophy “Don’t Sweat the Small Stuff” might come in handy ;)

    • Good points! I don’t think I’m sweating so much that the layouts might look the same, it’s that I’m bored fairly easily and like to try new things to keep it exciting. :)

  3. I love all of your pages and think you have done a great job with keeping them different from year to year. I like the large photos in the one from a prior year and like the ephemera that you used as a key element this year. I, too, feel “challenged” to make recurring events look different in my scrapbook albums. As commented above, no one would notice — but I would!

Leave a Reply

