30 Things About Me

Tomorrow is my 2-year blogiversary.  It also happens to be my birthday tomorrow – a milestone birthday at that.  I decided to take this milestone as an opportunity to give you a closer peek at me.

30 Things About Me at 30

  1. Ice cream is my favorite food.
  2. My favorite drinks are a margarita, a Kir Royale or a glass of wine (not together at the same time).
  3. I am a middle child.
  4. I was excited to ditch my maiden name because I hated spelling it for people.  I still have to spell my married name.  P-a-r-k-e-r, it’s not that hard people!
  5. I’ve never played a competitive sport in my life.
  6. I taught myself how to run.
  7. I dropped 5 pant sizes in college.
  8. I’ve lived on the California Coast my entire life and don’t do extreme weather.
  9. I didn’t have a passport until 2007.
  10. Paris is one of my favorite places in the entire universe.
  11. My official favorite place in the universe is anywhere Mr. P is.
  12. I’ve developed a fear of flying over the last few years.
  13. That being said, I’ve traveled over 39,000 miles this year.
  14. I suck at keeping in touch with people.
  15. I love the smell of concrete after it rains.
  16. I dislike the term “football widow” and think ladies can really enjoy football if they gave it a chance.
  17. I interrupt too much.
  18. I love living in a place where I can walk/transit and not have to use my car.
  19. I believe I should never be afraid of something if I can take steps to understand it.
  20. I was the first person in my family to go to college.
  21. I’m a third-generation US Citizen.
  22. My daily commute is about an hour and a half door-to-door and I blog during some of it.
  23. I save the red Skittles for last.
  24. I have a hard time remembering things I learned in school and for my job, but I’m awesome at song lyrics and useless trivia.
  25. I once had to memorize names and faces of 300 people.  Ever since then, I really suck at remembering names.
  26. I’ve had a teddy bear since childhood named Mr. Bear.
  27. I learned to like spicy food and now I’m addicted to it.
  28. Mr. P and I taught ourselves how to cook.
  29. I’m a visual learner.  If you want to explain something complicated to me, get a flow chart.
  30. Finally, I’m understanding at my age what really matters in life and cutting out things that don’t matter.  YOU matter to me, thank you for reading!

Hat tip to Kelly Purkey, who also turned 30 this year and gave me the idea for this post.

19 thoughts on “30 Things About Me

  1. Happy, happy birthday, Nat! It was so fun to read this list (and a great way to celebrate your birthday on your blog :))

    P.S. One more thing we have in common: I also was excited that my married name is “easier” to spell than my maiden name…or at least, it should be!

    • Thanks Natalie! It’s good to see you! Your name seems like it would be so easy to spell! I’ve accepted my lot now and I spell it every single time to avoid confusion.

    • Thank you! One of my most favorite random memories is when I visited the M&M store in Vegas years ago and they sold skittles by the color. I got an entire bag of red ones!

  2. Happy Birthday to you!! And what a great post!! :-) I turned 40 in February and since I haven’t done this year’s ScrapBook yet, I think I will copy/steal your great idea and do a page like this!! In fact, I will recommend this to friends and customers. I have noticed that most ScrapBookers do very few pages strictly about themselves, yet this a wonderful and simple way for anyone to make a page about themselves. Thanks for sharing yourself with all of us.

  3. Happy Birthday!

    I love list posts like this! #4 makes me laugh. My maiden name is hard to spell (there are many spellings of it) and my married name is hard to say and spell! I didn’t get away with anything there!

    #16 is so true! My fiance loves football, and I know enough to get by watching it. Or I just use the time to craft in the same room. We work it out that I show him the finished products, and he asks me to look up when major plays happen!

    And I have my teddy bear from childhood too :) Her name is Mama Bear, because she was the “oldest” of all my bears, and watched over everyone!

    • It’s funny to see the things I have in common with other people! I do some scrapbooking during football Saturdays when we are at home, except for when my team plays. When my team plays, I’m usually curled up in the ball on the couch in frustration :)

  4. Awwww Happy Birthday and thank you for sharing great post. You should do another one at 35 to see if ice cream is still your favorite food LOL. I hope you have a fabulous birthday!

Leave a Reply

