Life’s Too Short for Ugly Stamps

Pretty StampsI love getting mail.

I thought this would wear off once I reached adulthood, but nope!  Even with junk mail, there’s a split second delight of getting mail before I get unnaturally pissed off that another company has sold my contact information.  I digress.

I love sending mail and I love sending pretty mail even more.

Nowadays, it’s so easy to get stamps from the grocery store, Costco or even the ATM!  I’m not saying the standard issue Liberty Bell stamps are ugly, they’re just kinda boring.  Going to the post office and looking at new stamps is a lost art.  I decided to check out stamps on USPS.gov.

I found lots of fun stuff!

I got Year of the Dragon stamps simply because they look so awesome.  I found these Cherry Blossoms and thought they were pretty.  Finally, I had to get the Pixar Send a Hello and Mail a Smile stamps because, let’s face it, the Pixar characters are awesome.

What’s even more awesome?  They’re all forever stamps, meaning they’re good for as long as I want to use them.

4 thoughts on “Life’s Too Short for Ugly Stamps

  1. Ooo, these are so pretty! I love the idea that they are all forever stamps. Wtih prices going up every six months, they need to be. It’s rare that I have to go to the post office anymore, but I do like that you can buy them online. When I need them again, I will check this out. :)

    • Exactly! I never go to the post office and usually we pick up stamps at Costco. Since they are Forever stamps, I’m only going to use them for fun/personal mail and use the Costco ones for bills.

  2. I agree with you! I grew up hearing my parents ask for commemorative (or “pretty”) stamps at the post office, and now I do the same. I buy the special stamps both for myself and for my work offices. It’s so much more fun using them–even on bills.

    • I think that’s the first time I ever learned to use the word “commemorative” – when my mom taught me how to ask for commemorative stamps.

Leave a Reply

