On Traveling and Taking Pictures

Mr. P, being ever so thoughtful as normal, brought this CNN article to my attention recently.  It’s about travel, social media and technology and how those things affect how much of our travels we share with friends.

It’s a very interesting read and I agree with many of the author’s points.  It made me realize that there isn’t a right answer to this issue and it’s up to me to balance.

For example, I will still show pictures from my vacations on Facebook.  However, I do not “photo dump” every single picture I took for my friends to see.  I very carefully pick the best ones.  There’s nothing that makes me not care anymore about looking at someone’s trip as having to thumb through blurry pictures or 10 pictures of the same thing in a Facebook album.

Putting down the camera.  The author’s thoughts about putting the camera down are well taken.  Again, it’s balance.  I try to learn each trip how to better capture my experience with the camera.  Still, there are times when I just enjoy myself without worrying so much about photos.  That’s especially true when I’m at an overwhelming or famous site – sometimes it’s impossible to capture the enormity of a place.  I have surprisingly few pictures of the Egyptian Pyramids for this reason.

What do you think?  How do you handle these things when you travel?  I’d love to hear your thoughts on the article.

Yup, that’s me trying to figure out my friend’s camera on top of the Great Wall.

5 thoughts on “On Traveling and Taking Pictures

  1. I get so frustrated by people who experience their vacations through a camera lens. You are right, it’s all about balance.

    Last week, my family went to The Barnes Foundation in Philadelphia – a premier collection of early 20th century art collected by Dr. Albert Barnes. We’re talking Matisse, Cezanne, Picasso, Renior here. The museum offered an iPod audio tour which a lot of people were doing. I had to laugh though; people were sitting in the gallery surrounded by the most amazing art I’ve ever seen, and they were looking at the paintings on the little iPod screen! I just wanted to scream, “Look up, people!”

  2. There is some balance but always room for improvement. There are things that I never took photos of while I was in Europe – food for instance. I only have one photo of me eating pizza. No other food photos. Huh? How is that possible? And there were other times that I was getting on my own nerves taking so many photos. I hope that I get better at remembering exactly what I need to shoot and when to just enjoy.

    As a single gal living in a crime ridden city, I’m not sure if I will ever be entirely comfortable sharing things while I am on the trip. I don’t post photos to Facebook until after, and when I do, I just share a few fun highlights. I just don’t want the world to know when I’m not home.

    • I found the same thing when looking at my honeymoon pictures – how did I not take a picture of a single thing we ate?

      Same here re living in a crime-ridden city. I try not to advertise that I’m going somewhere and usually only post pictures when I get home.

Leave a Reply

