On Redoing Pages

I have a rule.  I don’t redo pages.

I set boundaries for myself.  This is, after all, a hobby (although if you’d like to pay me for it, I’m listening).  I choose not to stress about certain things because a hobby is supposed to be fun.

There are plenty of times when I’m not 100% happy with a finished product (most recently, this page).  Usually it’s because I want to make it perfect.  I try to take time while I’m making the page to figure out what’s bothering me and fix it.  If I can’t?  No big deal.

What about scrapbooking I did 10 years ago?  I can find many things “wrong” with my pages:  the layouts aren’t great, I didn’t edit and included every picture, and I may have used some supplies that weren’t acid free.  I still won’t redo them.  I simply consider those pages a record of how my style has evolved.

I have too many things ahead of me in life that need to be scrapbooked to worry about redoing things.

What’s your take on redoing pages?

21 thoughts on “On Redoing Pages

  1. I agree with you. It’s fun (and sometimes a little painful) to see my scraping style from 10 years ago. Some of the background paper I used was hideous!

    There is one scrapbook that I performed a “re-do.” My grandmother made me a scrapbook of my childhood, but she put it in a photo album with those sticky pages and made a puffy fabric cover. The cover was ruined in a move, and I knew those pages weren’t good for the photos. So I took a few snaps chronicling the old book, and moved all the photos over to acid free paper in a new album. I wanted to save it! So the move was for preservation reasons, not aesthetic ones.

    • I agree – I think preservation is a different question. I think when faced with the same problem that you had, I might have done the same thing.

  2. I agree with you 100%. I never redo anything either. I do enjoy seeing the difference from how I scrapbooked 10 years ago to now. My daughters baby book is better then my sons baby book but hey at least his was the first scrapbook. Now they both get to reap the benefits of how well I scrapbook.

    • I really should post some of my work from 10 years ago, I think everyone would get a kick out of it!

      So each child got their own scrapbook? What period of time does it chronicle? Up to their birth? Their first year?

      • I think I should post some of my stuff as well. Maybe I will try and take some pictures this weekend of old scrapbook pages.

        Well there is a ten year difference between my two monsters. My son has scrapbooks from birth to age five for each year of his life. Then there are some missing years (meaning I can’t seem to find pictures for some years) of his life. My daughter has her baby book only. I have decided to create birthday books for each child as well. Then after my daughter is born there are family albums for each year. I think I explained everything. I might have to write all this down and do a post about how I have everything set up.

      • I’d love to see it! I think my opinion is also influenced by the fact that I don’t have kids yet. I think I’d be more apt to want to change pages in the past if they were of my kids.

      • I have never thought about redoing my son’s old scrapbooks. I was learning and there is something special about seeing the progression. Besides I don’t think they are horrible pages. LOL

      • You’re right, I don’t think my old stuff is horrible, but just not as great as my new stuff.

  3. I swore I would never re-do pages either. But, I have done a few—not because I was unhappy with the early pages (which are definitely bad), but because I wanted to use those pictures in a different way and tell the stories behind them. My early stuff had boring journaling—the who, what, where, and time—rather than the fun stories. For example, I had a page full of boys pictures from high school with nothing but their names. The page I did recently was titled: “Every girl needs a posse of boys.” I then told a few stories about my guy friends. The only thing I could not change was that I had corner-rounded EVERY photo!

    • That’s a really interesting perspective! I wonder if my opinion will change over time. I look back at my high school pages and still feel I’ve “closed the book” on those in more ways than one.

  4. I thought about this before, but I agree, I like to be able to look back and say – that is how I did it back then :) The only time I might scrap a photo again…is if there is another story to tell, one that was not told with the first layout.

  5. I’m with you. I have too many things to do in the future and have no interest in going backwards and re-doing something. I like to see the evolution too so for that alone I won’t re-do my pages.

    On an unrelated note…..I heard Green Day’s new song on the radio the same day you sent me that link! It really is much more upbeat than some of their recent stuff. Looking forward to hearing more. Lot’s of new albums coming out in September! :)

  6. Pingback: This is how I do it « the happy scrapper

  7. I have just found your blog – through the happy scrapper’s blog – thanks Beth! And MUST comment too :) I never, NEVER redo pages!! Or teach my customers to! There are so many projects to do TODAY that to redo seems pointless to me. Plus, I agree with all of you about old albums show the progression of how you make your albums. Even how the tools and trade itself has changed!!

    Let me ask you guys, how many of your children/spouses/siblings/parents look at your old albums and say, “I wish you had used blue instead of green on that page.” Or “You should have used flowers instead of leaves on this page.” And “You should have cut circles for these pictures instead of just rounding the corners.” Doesn’t happen!! (WE do that, I know!) But they don’t. They look at the pictures and are reading the stories. The person who redid the page to add journaling was a GREAT story, I must admit!! But even that, with digital scanning, you don’t even have to redo pages like that, but just scan those old photos and do another one.

    I recently heard a story of a woman whose child – that couldn’t read yet – brought her an album, turned to a page, pointed to a picture and said, “Tell me that again, Mommy.” They didn’t care about the paper and the embellishments, but the love behind the picture, the story, the love in their family. Keep up the good work. Don’t redo the old!

    • Thanks! I agree that the people who look at the albums don’t see the issues or trends that I see. I think that’s why I try to keep my layouts as simple as possible so not to distract from the important stuff.

  8. I can’t say I have never redone a page, but it’s pretty rare. I will more likely deconstruct it right away rather than bother with it once it has been put into a page protector. There is one set of pages of one of my daughter’s early birthday party that really could use a redo; I’ve been thinking about that for a couple of years now and still have not redone it.

  9. I really believe that it is important not to redo pages from the past, other than for the obvious reasons of adding journaling or for preservation purposes. The style and type of the layout from the past also tells an important story…where I was in the scrapbooking learning path, what the colours and styles were at the time. So I had “sticker sneeze”; well that tells the viewer what decade the layout was scrapped. So everything was lime green and purple? Again, that tells us what colours and styles were important then. Just as glasses and clothing changes with the years, so does our evolving style. The only thing I might suggest to myself that I didn’t think about before is that I wouldn’t cut the photos into shapes. I recently put my wedding photos (think 25th wedding anniversary!) into an album from a storage photo album where I had cut a lot of them into shapes such as hearts. That made it very hard to update the look. No matter what the current style is, I won’t scrap anything but rectangular photos and I would pay more attention to how I crop photos…some of the backgrounds from the old photos bring back memories from that time too. Dad’s favourite chair, the kind of wallpaper etc…

    • Very interesting points! I’m really going to keep in mind your point about cropping pictures. I’ve never thought about it that way before!

Leave a Reply

