Scrapbooking and My Wine Rack

wine rack and paper craftsScrapbooking and wine.  They don’t seem to go together, do they?  They seriously don’t, no liquids of any kind are allowed near my craft table.

After a dinner party a few weeks ago, I got to thinking how bottles of wine are like scrapbooking supplies.  Seriously, hear me out!

Mr. P and I went wine tasting last year and bought a slew of new bottles.  There was one bottle that sat on the rack for a while.  It wasn’t super special, but it was really interesting and I was waiting for just the right dinner party to open it.

Fast forward to the dinner party recently.  I decided, why not?  We should open the bottle.  I popped the cork, poured the glasses and . . . it just wasn’t good.  It either wasn’t as good as I remembered or sitting on the rack too long affected the taste.  It was undrinkable bad.

How does this relate to scrapbooking and paper crafts?  Holding onto supplies because you haven’t found a worthy use for them is problematic.  Wouldn’t it be better to use supplies while you still loved them?  There a danger if you hold onto something for too long that you’ll end up not liking it anymore.

For wine, nothing is worth saving that long unless it should be aged (this usually means it’s an expensive red*).  In scrapbook or paper crafting, it means the supply has to be really exceptional to save for a long period.  Really.  I mean like the papyrus I picked up in Egypt.

The conclusion??  Drink your wine and use your stash!  Don’t think you have a dinner party nice enough for the wine?  Open it on a Friday night to celebrate the end of the workweek.  Don’t think you have a layout important enough to use some new paper?  Embrace the fact that you have the time to be creative and allow yourself to use the nice stuff.

*This is my uneducated wine lesson here – wine is meant to be drank.  You can age some wine, but I don’t spend nearly enough money on wine to get things that should be aged.  Generally, you shouldn’t age whites (I found this out the hard way when I kept bottles of white a couple of years after my wedding).  Champagne or sparkling wine should be consumed within a year of purchase – it does not age and will degrade.

7 thoughts on “Scrapbooking and My Wine Rack

  1. Interesting correlation! I have gotten better about using things when I still love them but I will also come across something I loved three years ago and still love now. But I do believe you will get greater satisfaction using it now and not letting it sit. I’m not a big wine drinker but I can see how this would relate. Love the idea of celebrating the fact that it’s Friday. When you do open a nice bottle of wine for the occasion, don’t forget to take a photo and scrapbook it! :)

    • Good idea! I need to remember to take pictures of bottles of wine. I was so ticked when I opened that bottle that turned out to be bad that the correlation just struck me :)

  2. Yes, you are so right! First of all, no liquids near the crafting table – that is a must!

    I recently found some crafting supplies from a few years ago – and I didn’t like them anymore. My tastes (and trends) have changed. I donated them to a teacher I know who has a craft center in her classroom. The kids don’t care if the stuff is old or not ;)

    Now I just buy what I need. I don’t really stock up on anything other than plain cardstock.

    As for wine, well most bottles don’t last long enough in my house to age – lol!

    Great piece!

    • Ha! Indeed, we drink most of our stuff and don’t let it sit. But there are a few bottles here and there that we don’t get around to and sort of save when we shouldn’t. Good idea re donating stuff!

  3. I totally agree with everything you said, although I have a cup holder attached to my table so I could possibly have a glass of wine will scrapping ;)

    I have hoarded many a scrappy supply and then pulled it out a year later only to wish I had the latest and greatest. I try to only buy what I will use right now, and I usually have specific pictures in mind when I buy now. This helps to slow the stash “waste” of saving things too long, and I can spend my scrappy money on things I really love and not feel bad about it because I can see it on a beautiful page soon!

    Great post you have gained a new follower!

    • I wouldn’t trust myself with a cup holder, I’m just that clumsy of a person! I like the idea of buying supplies when you are inspired to do something with them. I picked up a small album a couple days ago and know the exact project I will use it for.

      Thanks for the compliment! :)

Leave a Reply

