Scrapbooking and Loss

Scrapbooking & LossI am always a few years behind with my scrapbooking.  I’ve grown to accept that.

But what do you do when there’s a significant life change between when something happens and when you record it?  Does it change how you would record the situation?

I’ve been thinking about this a lot lately as I plan my wedding scrapbook.

The Loss of a Person

When I shared my wedding invitation scrapbook layouts, I included pictures of our grandparents because I thought it would be nice to honor them and I wanted to add some response cards to the layout.

Honestly?  There was more to it than that.

Sure, I was going to put response cards in the book in some way.  But right when I was planning this page, one of our grandparents got very sick.

At that point, I decided to use the response cards from our grandparents and include pictures.

Wedding Invitation Scrapbook PageJust a handful of days after I finished this page, the grandparent I mentioned above passed away.  We miss him terribly.

As I’m continuing with this book, I’m finding more and more ways to make sure he’s included (as well as the rest of our grandparents and loved ones).

The Loss of a Place

Important places in life can be very significant as well.  It isn’t the same as losing a loved one, but it has affected my scrapbook.

Back in November, my favorite college bar burned down.  This may seem trivial.  It isn’t.

The entire building was a loss and many people in the apartments above lost everything.  I spent many, many great times there with my friends – with my husband when he was a mere acquaintance.  We celebrated both our college graduations there.  We loved the place so much we had our rehearsal dinner out on the patio there.

Wedding Rehearsal ScrapbookI never intended to include the quicky-PDF invitation in my rehearsal dinner layout.  All that changed though.  The invitation listed the entire food menu.  We knew the menu by heart.  It was absolutely going in the book.  So I printed it in a tiny booklet size and put it on the page.

That’s enough musing from me.  What about you?  Do you find you make different memory keeping decisions in hindsight?

7 thoughts on “Scrapbooking and Loss

  1. So sorry for your loss. Big hugs to you.

    One of the things I love so much about scrapbooking is to preserve things about the people we love so that we will never forget. I think that time and perspective can be good – your journaling can have deeper meaning when more time passes and everything isn’t so raw and fresh. But if you can write some things down while the details are still clear, that will help later on when you get around to it. I love to scrapbook fresh photos from events two weeks ago, but I also love to scrapbook something that happened 4 years ago because of the perspective I have now. At the end of the day, whatever you can get down, whenever you can get it down, it’s all good!

  2. Sorry for your loss. I like to do both. I like scrapbooking more recent things, but think it’s good to leave some memories for some time and then come back to them. Your perspective does change. I’ve found that letting time pass sometimes causes me to record a story I would never have otherwise recorded had I scrapbooked shortly after the memory happened.

    • Thanks. I’m finding even aside from the stories above, I am making sure to document more things in this scrapbook that I wouldn’t have thought to do if I had made it right after I got married.

  3. Pingback: Wedding Scrapbook: Groomsmen’s Trip to the Bar « Almost Never Clever.

Leave a Reply

