Sketching and Planning the Wedding Scrapbook

Wedding Scrapbook SketchAs I get ready to take you through the wedding part of my wedding scrapbook, it’s useful to know my process.

You may think because I’m uber organized that I’ve planned how this entire book will work.  That’s a ton of pressure.  I can’t make decisions like that!

If I plan the whole book today, I’ll likely change my mind later.  I’m going to take this book one bit at a time.  When I scrapbook, I do what feels right at the time I’m working on it.  That’s it.  No regrets.

I’m starting with the first little chunk – pre-ceremony.  I make lists of what I want to include, then start sketching how many pages I think I’ll need.

Wedding Scrapbook SketchFrom there, I’m sketching ideas for layouts.  Sometimes I look at the pictures first, sometimes I don’t.  Sometimes I’ll see a layout online that I just know will work for one of my pages.

Wedding Scrapbook SketchOriginally I thought I would make all the layouts largely the same to tie the book together.  I decided that would be a boring process. Using the same papers tie it together well enough and I’m going to use lots of different layout designs.

Wedding Scrapbook SketchAfter I work my way through the first chunk and finish all the pages, I’ll start the whole process over with the next part.  Step by step, bit by bit.

This is really just a pep talk for myself.  Time to get going!

To see the supplies I’m using in my wedding scrapbook and progress so far, visit my wedding scrapbook page.

3 thoughts on “Sketching and Planning the Wedding Scrapbook

  1. Yay, the wedding – can’t wait to see what clever ideas you come up with!

    My process is a little streamlined from yours – no sketches here. I gather together the photos that I want to tell my story, then start pulling out papers to go with. I spread it all out on my counter and let it sit. I walk by and move things around (take photos out, put some in). Sometimes I have a layout in mind, but most of the time, it just comes to me. It’s a bit “hit and miss,” but it works :)

    Good luck!

    • I think everyone has their own process that works for them. I’m so visual that I have to sketch things out. I don’t print photos until I’ve decided exactly what I want to use and what size, so it makes it a bit different by necessity.

  2. Pingback: Wedding Scrapbook: Old, New, Borrowed, Blue « Almost Never Clever.

Leave a Reply

