Crafty Movies

Crafty MoviesI’m curious, what do you watch or listen to during creative time?  Do you watch TV?  Listen to music?  Watch movies?  Enjoy the silence?

I watch a lot of TV and movies.  Well, I listen to a lot of TV and movies because I’m usually not actually looking at the TV.  I also try to clear off the DVR before I start watching movies.

In My DVD Player Right Now

I have a hand-me-down DVD player that holds 5 DVD’s.  This is awesome because I can be lazy and keep multiple movies in the DVD player without putting them away.

The only real rule here is that the movie has to be something I’ve seen before.  That way I can listen to it mindlessly and not have to worry about missing plot points.

  1. Little Women – The Winona Ryder version.  Of course no movie is completely true to the book, but I find this one to be the closest.
  2. Notting Hill – I could watch this movie over and over again and I’m not sure why. I have a very high bar for romantic comedies and they usually disappoint me.
  3. Pride and Prejudice (2 discs) – The BBC version.  Colin Firth is and always will be the only Mr. Darcy in my book.
  4. The Royal Wedding – As in Will and Kate, BBC version.  I got this for Christmas and it is awesome (and finally allowed me to delete the wedding coverage from the DVR).

I’m not going to get into what’s on my DVR.  Let’s just say I watch a lot of bad cable reality TV.

10 thoughts on “Crafty Movies

  1. I could watch the Royal Wedding over and over – and I’m not sure why. I think it’s the combination of beautiful music, beautiful people, and a traditional church wedding that just captures my attention. I didn’t know you could buy it on DVD – thanks!

    As for crafting, I usually enjoy the silence. Sometimes I put my iPod on to the PBS radio app and listen to a little classical music. Or if I’m in a wild mood, maybe the Pirates of the Caribbean soundtrack (all 4 of them)!

    • I agree! The link above points to the BBC version. I watched it live on CNN (needed HD!) so when I got to watch the BBC version on DVD, it was a whole new thing again because the BBC had some better camera angles.

  2. I generally have something playing on the DVR. I don’t have long blocks of time to scrapbook anymore, usually an hour here and an hour there, so I tend to watch old TV shows on DVD, an episode is 45 minutes and when a show is over, it’s time to clean up. Favorites are ER, Alias, The Pretender, Burn Notice, Grey’s Anatomy. When I have more time I’ll watch a movie – usually romantic comedy or something mindless that I don’t need to pay attention to, for the same reasons you stated! :)

  3. P&P is such a good crafting movie! I know it so well that I don’t actually have to look up to know what is going on :)
    I don’t usually watch things, but I have really enjoyed listening to podcasts (like Paperclipping) or books on Playaway… but when I need to write captions or journaling, I need complete silence!

  4. And surely you have seen “New in Town” with Renee Zellweger and Harry Connick Jr.? Not the quality of P&P, but a cute CHICK FLICK with scrapbooking as a secondary plot…

  5. Pingback: Lollygagging in London « Almost Never Clever.

Leave a Reply

