Scrapbook Layout: Wedding Scrapbook Engagement Announcements

Engagement Announcement Scrapbook PageMuch like my proposal page, this was a challenge of trying to fit must-have items onto a page.  I spent a lot of time cursing the fact that one of the announcements was so big!

On the bright side, I was very happy to have multiple copies of each announcement (courtesy of our grandparents who bought all the newspapers).  This let me choose the ones in the best condition and if I didn’t like the way I cut it out, I could try again!

Engagement Announcement Scrapbook PageI used grey as the base color and then accented it with other colors from the palette I’m using for this section.

Engagement Announcement Scrapbook PageAlong the bottom, I added a caption that listed the names of the newspapers where we ran the announcement.  Finally, I added a blue headline cut with the Silhouette.

Engagement Announcement Scrapbook PageAt this point, I really hope this gets easier!

Engagement Announcement Scrapbook Page

6 thoughts on “Scrapbook Layout: Wedding Scrapbook Engagement Announcements

  1. Looking good, Nat! Quick question for you – I’m wondering if you used the actual newspaper clippings and if so, did you use archival spray on them and how was your experience with the spray? I have a bottle of archival spray, but haven’t tried it out yet. I’ve always just used the clippings right on the layout, but it’s been a long time since I’ve used them.

    • Nope, never had experience with archival spray. What is it supposed to do? I use the clippings right on the layout, attached with acid free tape. I have newspaper clippings attached in a similar manner from way back in high school and I haven’t seen any degradation in the quality of the clipping.

      • The spray neutralizes the acid in the newspaper to make them last longer. To tell you the truth, I don’t mind the clippings aging a bit and have done the same process as you.

      • Good to know. I’ll probably stick with my current method because it seems to be working fine. If it’s a news article that I’m particularly attached to and don’t want to lose, I scan it before I put it in the scrapbook.

Leave a Reply

