New Year’s Resolution

New Year's Craft ResolutionI actually don’t make new Year’s resolutions.  Not because I feel above it all or anything, I just never think about it.

How about a crafty new year’s resolution?  Lately I’ve been thinking a lot about crafts and creative time.  I have a lot of exciting things in life planned for 2012 and fitting in creative time will be a challenge.  Expect a few more posts about this as the year goes on.

Creative time is precious and I don’t think I could ever possibly have enough.  I realized what bits of creative time I do have I should guard.  So here it goes:

Crafty New Year’s Resolution:
No Email or Social Networking During Creative Time

Normally, when I work on a project, I probably check my email several times.  I can check my email from anywhere.  I can’t work on creative projects from anywhere.

Sure, it probably won’t be an absolute ban and I’m okay with that.  The mantra above is easier to repeat to myself than “cut down messing around on the computer as much as possible during creative time except when it’s really important.”

Are you making any crafty new year’s resolutions?  If not something formal, do you have any crafty goals this year?

Note:  I’ve updated my Links page, which includes links to blogs I read.  It’s a new year!  Head on over there to check out blogs I love and try some new ones on for size.

8 thoughts on “New Year’s Resolution

  1. Boy do I know what you mean! I am terrible at keeping my mind on the task– that Gmail is so stinkin’ addicting, and I don’t even get that much email!! I have found that listening to a podcast or audiobook helps me stay on track and away from my email/Google reader… sometimes. :) Although these days, I haven’t had much crafty time at all! Eventually I’ll get back into it, though!!

    • I’m so pleased to hear from you! Hope you and Vivian are doing well! Think of it this way, refreshing gmail and blogs only takes one hand :)

  2. That is a very do-able resolution! I don’t really do resolutions much either. OK, maybe I “THINK” about them but never actually follow through. As for my crafty goal for 2012, I’m going to make it a point to spend more evenings in my space, even if I don’t feel like it because I’m brain dead from crunching numbers and looking a spreadsheets all day. I like the idea of making the most of the time you have to craft!

    • If I can think of more ideas to get you into your space, I’ll let you know! My mind is a bit warped in that I never feel like I have enough time to scrapbook, so I try to spend a lot of time at my table. Recently though, I’ve been experimenting with completing some low-impact tasks from my living room couch. Can you do something like that?

  3. I like your resolution and think it is a smart way to stay focused on what you love to do :) I think this will be something I will need to practice as well if i want to do my class and have some crafty time. I wish you all the best in 2012!

    • Exactly – class and crafty time is a huge issue which is why it’s that much more important to make the most of the little time you have to craft!

Leave a Reply

