Tags

, , , ,

Homemade Basket StuffingDo you own a paper shredder? If so, there is no need to buy basket stuffing again.

This is simple, simple. No crafting prowess required.

These Supplies are Around Your House

You will need a paper shredder and a paper product that you want to make stuffing out of. I’ve found that something hefty works better (i.e. regular paper and wrapping paper are out).

My favorite thing to use for basket stuffing are old wrapping paper rolls. Not the heavy cardboard rolls that you used to pretend were lightsabers as a kid. Wrapping paper rolls today tend to actually be a thin sheet of cardboard that is rolled into the center of the paper.

Wrapping paper rollAnother fun idea is holiday-themed grocery bags. The mix of brown and the red color on the bag makes festive basket stuffing.

Recycling paper bags.Easy from Here on Out

Whatever you decide to use, cut it up into pieces so it will feed through the paper shredder. I ran my rotary cutter over the wrapping paper roll to break it into pieces.

Wrapping paper rolls cut upFeed the pieces through the shredder.

Using paper shredder to make basket stuffing.I don’t know why I think I need to describe this, I’m sure you have the idea by now.

Presto-change-o: basket stuffing!

This also works well in gift boxes in place of tissue paper.

Homemade Basket StuffingTips & Ideas

  • Use wrapping paper rolls or paper bags.
  • Cut items small to feed easily through paper shredder.
  • Stuffing works well in baskets and gift boxes.
  • Leftovers? Store in a ziploc bag for next time.
