Tags

, , , , , , ,

Silhouette cut headlineI bought myself a new toy for my birthday a few weeks back:  a Silhouette SD.  I don’t invest in new paper or supplies that often and I’m determined to make the most of what I have.  This was a huge scrapbooking purchase so I thought I’d share with you!

Lately have been cutting a lot more headlines.  As in, I would cut them by handWith an x-acto knife.  It would take forever, my hand would get sore, and I couldn’t do a perfect job.  The little nicks and hard corners in some of my letters really bothered me.  I thought about the wedding scrapbook coming up and how I would probably want cut headlines for all of those pages.  Plus, I do a lot of paper crafting and would definitely use it for more than scrapbooking.

Scrapbook headline cut by handThe Silhouette SD is a digital cutting machine that hooks up to your computer.  I chose the Silhouette as opposed to other cutters because I can cut fonts I already have, design my own patterns and won’t need to buy expensive cartridges*.  Always one to embrace a trend late in the game**, I bought the Silhouette SD on sale because Silhouette is introducing a newer, larger machine.  I talked with their customer service and confirmed that they will still be selling parts and supporting the SD.

Scrapbook headline cut with Silhouette SDI’m excited to be able to share my trials and tribulations with you!  I am not affiliated with Silhouette and they are not paying me to post about the machine.  Therefore, you can expect my uncensored opinion.  I’m already BFF’s with their customer service department because I had some issues with the cutting mats and they sent me some new ones.

Back to the scrapbook!

Silhouette SD*Ah yes, doesn’t Silhouette have an online store where you can buy new shapes?  Isn’t it a slippery slope just like buying cartridges?  I don’t think so.  I can import my own images into the program and cut my own shapes.  I received a $10 download gift card with the machine and haven’t touched it yet.

**As in, I never watched the Sopranos until the show was cancelled.  Then I watched it all on DVD and couldn’t wait to discuss plotlines with my coworkers by the watercooler the next day.  Oh wait.

