Big Box of Wedding Stuff

Box of Wedding StuffWe are almost clear for takeoff on the wedding scrapbook.

As I did with my last college scrapbook, the first order of business is to go through the big box of stuff.  All of my wedding stuff went into 2 boxes and I haven’t looked through them for 5 years.

This is the first step because it helps me get a feel for what I have for the book. I took over all the horizontal space in my home office and put everything into piles (engagement, bridal shower, etc.).  I get rid of anything I can’t believe I saved I don’t think I’ll need.  Why did I save the envelope that each card came in?

I make a list of all the categories of stuff I have, then carefully place everything back in the box in reverse chronological order.  I got it down to one box!  Progress already!

6 thoughts on “Big Box of Wedding Stuff

  1. Don’t even get me thinking about a wedding scrapbook! I actually made a small, twenty page (I think it’s an 8×8) one about a year ago…ten years after we were married!! I did it really fast just to get it done. Not completely pleased with it, but done. I still have a big storage container of wedding memorabilia, plus tons of other photos that one day may get scrapped. Good luck on this project!

    • I’m going to keep at it! Getting rid of the box is my motivating factor! I’m already quite pleased with myself that I was able to cut it from 2 to 1 already.

  2. I just stumbled on this blog and I think this is going to save my sanity. Really. Thank you for posting. I’ve been working on my list too (one of the few things I’ve already started) and just wondering how detailed did you get on your list? Was it like “Ceremony, Formals, Cake, Dance” etc or was it more detailed than that? Just trying to figure out how to get mine organized so I don’t have to do everything 5 times over. Thanks so much!!

    • Awesome! I’d love to see you you interpret working with this stuff! It doesn’t have to be the same as me, but here’s an idea: for the box of stuff, I categorized things like dress shopping, reception, ceremony, etc. That was just to keep like groups of stuff in the box together. But for the scrapbook itself and the photos, I had very specific categories like proposal, dress shopping, shower, getting ready, cake, bouquet/garter, family photos, formal photos of us, etc. You can get a good idea of the progress by clicking “wedding scrapbook” on the left sidebar. Good luck!

  3. I am currently doing the planning of our wedding-album – I am having planned 135 plus pages so far … I love seeing your pages – they are very delicate.

Leave a Reply

