Scrapbook Layout: A Layout with Zig Zag Binding

This is a really picture-heavy event.  I had scrapbooked it two times already for previous years and it always took up 2 pages.  I wanted to do something different and try a vertical headline.  2 pages just wouldn’t seem to work.

This was one of those layouts I had to stare at for several days, waiting for the light bulb.

Enter Zig Zag Binding

Stumped, I was surfing around and saw this video tutorial by Elise on zig zag binding.  That’s it!  It was the perfect way to include more pictures in the layout without them being overwhelming.

Zig zag binding is very easy.  You use an accordion folded piece of paper as the base and then glue your pages to it.  The result is a cute booklet.

I had the program from this banquet, which was an 8.5×11″ piece of paper folded in half.  I attached it to my accordion-folded piece of paper and then added extra pages.  Looking at the page, you only see the program.  However, when you look through the program, it now has several pages of pictures behind it!

It went something like this:

Gluing the pages to the accordion and to each other (just watch the video and this will make sense).

Presto!

I won’t go into detail about how to do this because the video is pretty comprehensive.  Make sure to check it out!  It is super easy to do but there are a couple ways to go way wrong if you don’t cut the accordion correctly.

I will definitely use this method again, maybe on a smaller scale next time.  I can see  making a small photo flip book to go on a page highlighting something from that event.  What would you do with this technique?

5 thoughts on “Scrapbook Layout: A Layout with Zig Zag Binding

  1. That is really cool. I did something similar once when I had a ton of photos I wanted on a layout. I am just not one to crop them small and cram as many on as possible. I think layouts need room to breathe. It’s something I should do more often though. This is a great layout and I love how your booklet turned out.

    • Exactly. This was a photo-heavy event and there was no way around it. I could have printed the photos itty-bitty and fit them all, but it wasn’t working. It was my first attempt at a booklet thing and I think I’m going to try it again soon!

  2. Hi Nat! This is a great idea and an especially clever one for the event you used it for! I will need to keep this one in mind for future photo heavy events :)

  3. Pingback: Wedding Scrapbook: Rehearsal & Dinner Layouts « Almost Never Clever.

Leave a Reply

