Scrapbook Layout: The Statement Picture

My second all-digital-photo layout was also another sports theme.  Time to put my skills with the photo printer to the test.

The challenges here were very similar to my bowl game layout: break out of my standard sport layout mold and try something new.  I was popping by another scrapbooker’s blog and found something to get the creative juices flowing!

Inspiration

My inspiration came from this layout I found at Ginger’s Life of Spice.  It’s a large statement picture with a small photo collage below it.  I knew if I could find the right action shot, it would be an awesome statement picture!

Photo credit: Gingers Life of Spice

The Big Picture

I found exactly what I was looking for – a picture of the game starting right before tipoff.  Perfect!  I printed the large picture and then created two smaller photo blocks to fit underneath it.  Each photo block featured 2 pictures.

Big statement picture and 2 photo blocks.

I like to feature keepsakes in my layouts, so I cut out one of my favorite newspaper pictures from that season.  It fit right between the two small photo blocks.

Picking a newspaper picture to go on page.

Tying Two Pages Together

This was meant to be a two-page layout.  I was on the cover of the Cal Sports Quarterly with the head basketball coach that season and I was going to put that cover on the second page.

But how to tie the two pages together?

I decided to flip through the pages of the Cal Sports Quarterly and found this border at the bottom of the page.  It’s actually a reproduction of the wall above the student section in the basketball arena.  Funny thing is I’m actually on the wall.  Yup, there’s this “scenery” picture on the wall of my friends and I going crazy during a game.

The border at the bottom of the page is actually a reproduction of the wall above the student section.

I cut out the strips from the magazine and added them to the bottom of the page.  They weren’t quite long enough, so I printed a tiny close-up of my picture on the wall along with the story and added them to the bottom of the page as well.

Adding a close-up of my picture on the wall and the story.

Finishing Touches

I finished off the page keeping up my masochistic streak of cutting out headlines out of cardstock by hand with my x-acto knife.  I need to stop doing that.  It takes forever.

My hand usually hurts when Im done cutting out the letters.

Here’s the finale!  The statement picture is just fantastic to look at and everything else compliments it.  I layered two pocket basketball schedules on top of the magazine cover to complete the second page.

Tips & Ideas

  • Pick one statement picture and print a very large copy.
  • Compliment the picture with a couple smaller pictures or photo blocks.
  • Consider a unifying border to tie two very different pages together.

4 thoughts on “Scrapbook Layout: The Statement Picture

  1. Well I am humbled by you posting my layout! That one came from a Jessica Sprague class, but I really love it! You did a perfect job at combining the two pages with the strips, and what a lot of work it is to cut those letters out! You really got lots of great shots and information on both pages, that’s impressive.

  2. Awesome layout! So fun to see your process, how you take the inspiration and do your own thing. I’m amazed that you cut out the letters. Oh my. I could never do that! But they look fantastic so I can see why you do it. Great job! 🙂

    • Yes, I like to draw on other people’s work even if what I churn out isn’t exactly the same. Every time I cut out letters, I think it’s the last time I’m going to do it. Then I work on a new page where cutting out letters is really the only thing that is going to look good in my mind, so I go for it again. I really need to think of something else!

Leave a comment