Some Old Friends Came Over . . .

Yes, they are books. I like to think of them as old friends. I recently ordered an absurd amount of used books. When the first box finally arrived, I opened it and felt an immediate rush of this happy, pleasant feeling. I can only describe it as the way you feel when you see an old friend after a very long time. If you are a reader, you know exactly what I’m talking about.

One of the best first lines of a book, ever. Can you guess what it is?

But what are these books for? They are for the largest, most epic craft project I have ever attempted.

The Muse

Prepare yourself for a long story.

The husband and I decided to visit a new bar in our neighborhood a few months ago. At the same time, I was trying to come up with an idea for our living room wall. I had four different ideas and I wasn’t thrilled with any of them.

All along the upper half of the wall of the bar were books.

Lots and lots of books. I was struck. This was it.

Dimly lit cell phone picture from inside the bar.

We sat at the bar and wondered what if we built something like this for our living room wall? Better yet, what if we made it out of our favorite books?

I decided to postpone making a choice until the next day.

Don’t make decorating decisions under the influence.

The next morning, it still seemed like an awesome idea and I ordered some books. Every time I think I may have gone off the deep end with this idea, I look at the progress and know: this is going to be awesome!

Extra Pages

This project will also leave me with a fair amount of leftover book pages. I’m going to use them in some smaller scale book crafts that I can’t wait to do. This will ensure that the leftovers do not go to waste.

I’m going to chronicle building this thing in a series of posts.

I can’t wait to share this project with you!

Stay tuned.

If you are in the Bay Area and want to visit the bar and see the books for yourself, visit Room 389 in Oakland. The drinks are excellent.

Update: Visit Part 2 – Building the Frame

10 thoughts on “Some Old Friends Came Over . . .

    • This really is going to turn into a monument for bibliophiles. Looking at it, you either really like it or you don’t. Most book lovers like it :)

  1. Quite the undertaking! I look forward to seeing progress as time goes on. And someday I’ll finally be able to get to the new Cussler…

  2. Pride & Prejudice! I read it for the first time this past summer and fell absolutely in love!! I can’t wait to see how this turns out. I love the idea of using books, but would feel so sad defiling my favorite books (even if they are copies). It took me forever and a day to decide to tear apart some crap romance novel to make a wreath. I’m a dork like that! Lol

    • I thought I would really feel bad taking apart the books but it was easier than I thought. I think maybe because I wasn’t totally cannibalizing them. Thanks for coming by! I love your blog!

Leave a Reply

